Thursday, June 13, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

Sheikh Hasina wins landslide victory from Gopalganj-3

The total number of centres in this constituency is 108

Update : 07 Jan 2024, 10:33 PM

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina and Awami League president has won the Gopalganj-3 constituency almost unopposed in a landslide victory bagging 2,49,962 votes in Sunday’s 12th general election.

The total number of centres in this constituency is 108. 

Her nearest rival Md Atiqur Rahman bagged 6,999 votes. Another candidate Mahabur Mollah got 425 votes.

Gopalganj Deputy Commissioner and Returning Officer Kazi Mahbubul Alam unofficially declared the result at 8:30pm.

Balloting in the 12th national polls in Bangladesh ended on Sunday amidst a largely peaceful environment. 

Voting began at 8am at 261,912 polling booths in 42,024 voting centres and continued until 4pm with 299 parliamentary seats up for election. 

However, centres where people are still waiting to exercise their franchise will continue to accept votes.

Polls were deferred in one seat at the death of a candidate.

Timeline: National Election 2024
07 Jan 2024, 21:55
Top Brokers


Popular Links