Monday, June 24, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

JaPa picks three new faces, bins ex-whip in Bogra

  • Locals reacting over rejection of Omor’s nomination papers
  • Rubel vowed to work within his maximum capacity
Update : 28 Nov 2023, 11:02 PM

The Jatiya Party (JaPa) has given its tickets to three fresh candidates and rejected the nomination form of the former whip and district unit party general secretary, Md Nurul Islam Omor, for the January 7 general election.

Omor was elected from the Bogra-6 (Sadar) constituency in the 10th parliamentary election. But he faced a debacle in the next polls. His losing streak continued in the subsequent two by-elections. He lost his election deposit too. 

As such, the party has picked Aziz Ahmed Rubel to contest in the parliamentary seat. Golam Mostafa Babu Moldol and Omor Faruk have been nominated for the Bogra-1 and Bogra-5 constituencies respectively. This is the first time they have been picked for a parliamentary election.  

The Bogra-1 constituency comprises Shariakandi and Sonatola upazilas. Babu is the general secretary of Shariakandi upazila JaPa.

In the last national election, JaPa candidate Prof Moqsedul Alam was defeated by the Awami League’s Shahdara Mannan.

In the Bogra-2 (Shibganj) seat, JaPa district unit president Shariful Islam Zinnah has yet again been given the party ticket. 

He came victorious as a candidate of the Awami League-led alliance in the last two general elections. 

Bogra-3 (Adamdighi-Dupchanchia) MP Advocate Nurul Islam Talukder has retained his candidacy. He, too, won as a Moha Jote candidate in the two previous national polls. 

JaPa central committee’s organizing secretary, and incumbent MP, Shahin Mostafa Kamal Faruq, will again join the polls fray with the party ticket for the Bogra-4 (Kahaloo-Nondigram) constituency.

Sherpur upazila unit JaPa Convener Omar Faruq has been nominated for the first time to vie for the Bogra-5 (Sherpur-Dhunot) seat. 

ATM Aminul Islam Sarkar Pintu, political adviser to JaPa Chairman GM Quader, has been roped in for the Bogra-7 (Gabtali-Shajahanpur). Pintu was an MP from the constituency in the 1986 and 1988 elections. He also served as the Zilla Parishad chairman in 2010.

Anger in Bogra Sadar 

Locals have been reacting over the rejection of Omor’s nomination papers. They have demanded that the party's high command reconsider the matter.

On this note, Omar said: “Only the nomination board can explain why I have been deprived of the party ticket.”

Pledges from new picks

As the replacement for Omar in the Bogra-6 seat, Rubel has vowed to work within his maximum capacity for locals if elected. 

Bogra-5 constituency’s Faruk is optimistic about his victory if the election is held freely and fairly.

“The sitting MP did not work properly for the development of the locality. So, I want to grab the chance of serving the locals properly,” he said.   

Babu, the JaPa candidate for the Bogra-1 seat, too, pledged to work for the locals once elected.

Top Brokers


Popular Links