Monday, June 17, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

Grand BPL draft set to be staged on Sunday

A total number of 186 local players are categorised in five groups while 368 foreign players are categorised in six groups with different price tags for each group

Update : 27 Oct 2018, 09:37 PM

The players’ draft of the sixth edition of the Bangladesh Premier League T20 is all set to take place tomorrow as seven franchises will vie to form their team out of a total number of 554 local and foreign players. 

The occasion will take place at the grand ballroom of the Radisson Blu Water Garden Hotel of the capital from 11am and BCB director Mahbub Anam will conduct the process as draft commissioner.

A total number of 186 local players are categorised in five groups while 368 foreign players are categorised in six groups with different price tags for each group. 

Each team have to pick minimum 10 local players and may pick a maximum of 12 while a franchise can pick a maximum of 9 overseas players. 

A franchise must include four foreign players in the final XI at a match. 

As the price of a player is fixed as per his designated category and no team can pay extra beyond that amount according to tournament’s regulations, each team will get an equal chance to pick their players in the auction round. 

Among the local players, the cricketers of A+ category will be paid an amount from Tk40-75 lakhs. 

All the teams except Chittagong Vikings have already retained their players of this category.

Dhaka Dynamites have retained Shakib al Hasan, Khulna Titans Mahmudullah, Comilla Victorians Tamim Iqbal, Rajshahi Kings Mustafizur Rahman and Rangpur Riders Mashrafe bin Mortaza. 

Meanwhile, it was not decided whether Mushfiqur Rahim will be retained or become a subject of the draft when this report was filed. 

The next grade is A grade, where the price tag is Tk25 lakhs, and seven national players are pitted in this category. 

A total of 17 local players are in the B grade with a price of Tk18 lakhs. C category has 43 players with Tk12 lakhs, D category has 43 players with Tk8 lakhs and E category has 76 players with a price tag of Tk5 lakhs. 

On the other hand 368 foreign players are slotted in seven categories. 

A total of three players - Pakistan’s Shahid Afridi, South Africa’s Imran Tahir and the West Indies’ Evin Lewis belong to A plus category. 

A category has five players - Pakistan’s Mohammad Hafeez and Faheem Ashraf, Sri Lanka’s Lasith Malinga and Thisara Perera and the Windies batsman Darren Bravo. 

B category has 11 players, C category 15 players, D category 48 players, E category 82 players and F category 204 players. 

According to the nationality, most number of foreign players - Englishmen and Pakistanis - are in B category with 81 and 72 players respectively. 

There will be names of 56 West Indies players and 55 Sri Lankan players available for selection. 

However, with the Indian Premier League T20 right around the corner, there will be no Indian names in the list and only two Australian players, not well known, feature in the list. 

But two superstars of the modern game, South African master blaster AB de Villiers and the West Indies’ Chris Gayle will feature for Rangpur as a direct signing and a retained player respectively. 

The franchise have also signed English batsman Alex Hales and want to retain the services of local players Nazmul Islam and Mohammad Mithun. 

Dhaka have retained as many as three players of World T20I champion West Indies in Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard and Rovman Powell. 

The franchise have also directly signed another West Indian Andre Russell and Afghanistan’s Hazratullah Zarzai, who made headlines by hitting six sixes in an over at the Afghanistan Premier League T20 recently.  

Khulna have retained Windies all-rounder Carlos Brathwaite along with local players Ariful Haque and Nazmul Hossain Shanto and directly signed English top-order batsman Dawid Malan.

Comilla have retained Pakistan’s Shoaib Malik along with local players Imrul Kayes and directly signed Sri Lanka all-rounder Asela Gunaratne and English cricketer Liam Dawson.

Afghanistan leg-spinner Qais Ahmed and South African middle-order batsman Christiaan Jonker have signed for Rajshahi as the franchise have retained local players Mominul Haque and Mehedi Hasan Miraz.

Top Brokers


Popular Links