Friday, May 24, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

Master Jury announced for 2022 Aga Khan Award for Architecture

Bangladesh's Professor Kazi Khaleed Ashraf one of the nine jurors

Update : 24 Sep 2021, 06:10 PM

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture has announced the nine-member Master Jury for the 2020-22 cycle. From Bangladesh, Prof Kazi Khaleed Ashraf, Director-General of Bengal Institute for Architecture, has been named as a juror.

The nine-member Master Jury will convene in January 2022 to select a shortlist from hundreds of nominated projects. The jurors will meet for a second time in summer 2022 to examine the on-site reviews and select the final recipients of the prestigious $1 million Award that's given every three years.

In fact, once the Master Jury selects a shortlist, the shortlisted projects are then subjected to rigorous on-site reviews by independent experts, most of them architects, conservation specialists, planners or structural engineers.

The selection process puts emphasis on architecture that not only provides for people’s physical, social and economic needs, but that also stimulates and responds to their cultural aspirations.

Also Read - Marina Tabassum in the Aga Khan Architecture Award steering committee 

Particular attention is given to building schemes that use local resources and appropriate technology in innovative ways and to projects likely to inspire similar efforts elsewhere.

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture is governed by a Steering Committee chaired by the Aga Khan Foundation.

The other members of the Steering Committee are Sheikha Mai Bint Mohammed Al Khalifa, President of Bahrain Authority for Culture and Antiquities, Manama; Emre Arolat, Founder, EAA-Emre Arolat Architecture, Istanbul; Meisa Batayneh, Principal Architect, Founder, Maisam Architects and Engineers, Amman; and Sir David Chipperfield, Principal, David Chipperfield Architects, London.

Also Read  - Bangladesh's Anandaloy bags Obel Award 2020

The other members are Souleymane Bachir Diagne, Director, Institute of African Studies, Columbia University, New York; Nasser Rabbat, Aga Khan Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge; Marina Tabassum, Principal, Marina Tabassum Architects, Dhaka; and Sarah M Whiting, Dean, Graduate School of Design, Harvard University, Cambridge.

Farrokh Derakhshani is the Director of the Award.

Top Brokers


Popular Links