Thursday, June 20, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

Polls in 57 UPs, 12 district councils, 1 municipality today

Update : 23 May 2017, 12:55 AM
Elections, re-elections and by-elections for different posts of 57 union parishads (UPs), 12 district councils and one municipality will be held on Tuesday. Suspension of voting caused by irregularities at polling centres during the day of polls has led to the reelections, while the by-polls are a result of vacancies created at different posts in local government bodies. In a press note issued on Monday, the Election Commission said it was prepared to hold the polls freely, fairly and neutrally. The election will start at 8am and continue until 4pm without a break. Ballot boxes, ballot papers and other necessary election materials have already been sent to the respective polling centres, the press release further said, adding that the election officials also reached the electoral areas on Monday. Additional law enforcers have been deployed with a number of magistrates assigned to avert any untoward situations. Re-elections will be held in seven out of 57 UPs, while 28 others will see by-polls taking place. Voters of Chandpur's Mehendiganj and Bandarban's Nakkhangchhori UPs will exercise their franchise in the by-polls to elect their chairmen. In 11 district councils, female candidates will vie for five reserved councillor posts, while other aspirants will run the polls race against 20 general councillor posts. Besides, a by-election to a general ward of Chittagong District Council will also be held. Meanwhile, voters will cast their ballots in the election to Khetlal municipality of Joypurhat. After its formation in February, the Election Commission held elections in 165 UPs on April 16, in the maiden voting at any level that is held by the constitutional body.
Top Brokers


Popular Links