Friday, June 21, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

Khulna, Barisal brace for final day battle in NCL

Update : 25 Sep 2017, 12:23 AM
Rajshahi trail by 285 runs for the loss of one wicket at stumps on day three against Chittagong at Shaheed Kamruzzaman Stadium in Rajshahi Sunday. Chittagong resumed the day on 419 and added 13 more before losing their two remaining wickets. Shariful Islam topped the Rajshahi attack with three wickets. Later, Rajshahi batted out 39 overs in their first innings to put 147 losing one wicket before rain interrupted play in the second session.

Also read: Chittagong, Khulna in driving seat in NCL

Rajshahi captain Jahurul Islam propelled the innings with an unbeaten 75. The wicketkeeper-batsman faced 119 balls and struck 14 boundaries. Imrul Karim picked up one wicket for Chittagong. Meanwhile at Sheikh Abu Naser Stadium in Khulna, the home side are in the driving seat, needing 10 wickets for a win while Barisal require another 370 ahead of the final day’s play Monday.

Also read: Mehedi, Tushar star in rain-hit NCL

The Khulna bowling attack was boosted by Abdur Razzak and Al Amin Hossain as the duo took four wickets each to end Barisal’s first innings on 258, managing a 186-run lead. Nuruzzaman was unbeaten on 101 when Barisal lost their last wicket. Later, Nurul Hasan scored 57 while Tushar Imran added as many unbeaten runs to the tally to push Khulna to 216 for seven declared, setting a 402-run target. Barisal’s Sohag Gazi notched three wickets.

Also read: Ton-up Ashraful, Naeem, Dhiman as 19th NCL begins

In reply, Barisal batted out 12 overs before stumps and scored 32 without loss. The game at Shaheed Chandu Stadium in Bogra saw some action at last as Rangpur went out to bat first. In 17 overs, Rangpur scored 49 without loss. Saymon Ahmed and Jahid Javed were unbeaten on 28 and 20 respectively. The game lost almost two and a half days due to wet and soggy outfield.BRIEF SCORESTier 1Khulna 444 & 216/7d in 49 overs (Tushar 57*, Nurul 57) lead Barisal 258 in 80 overs (Nuruzzaman 101*, Rafsan 58) & 32/0 in 12 overs (Fazle 15*, Rafsan 13*) by 371 runsTier 2Chittagong 432 in 142.5 overs (Yasir 94, Sajjadul 68) lead Rajshahi 147/1 in 39 overs (Jahurul 75*, Mysukur 36) by 285 runs
Top Brokers


Popular Links