Thursday, June 20, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

National Film Award celebrates Bangladeshi film history

Update : 11 May 2014, 06:42 PM

The “National Film Award 2012” was a grand event that took place on May 10 through a host of colourful programmes, dance and music. Celebrated stars of the Bangladesh film industry showed up dressed in stunning attires for the biggest event of the year that honoured 23 noted artistes and technicians for their contribution to Bangla cinema. 

The awards were distributed in 24 categories. Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina attended the ceremony and handed out the awards at the Bangabandhu International Conference Centre on Saturday afternoon.

Seasoned actor and film personality Khalil Ullah Khan bagged the Lifetime Acheivement Award. Eminent writer-director, the late Humayun Ahmed was named as Best Director while Best Screenplay went to his last film “Ghetu Putro Komola.” The film also bagged the awards for Best Music Director, Best Child Artiste, Best Cinematographer, Best Editor, Best Art Director, Best Makeup and Best Costume Director. With eight awards in total, “Ghetu Putro Komola” is the film that won the highest number of awards in the National Film Award 2012.

Following suit is Redwan Roni’s “Chorabali” which scored five awards. Protagonist of the film Joya Ahsan won Best Actress, while Shahiduzzaman Selim won Best Actor in a Negative Role. ATM Shamsuzzaman got the award of Best Supporting Actor for his role in the film “Chorabali.” The film also won the award for Best Dialogue.

Shakib Khan got the best actor award for his outstanding performance in the film “Khodar Pore Maa.” This is his second win at the “National Film Award.”

“Uttorer Sur,” produced by Faridur Reza Sagor, is directed by Shahnewaz Kakoli, who won the award for best story writer. The film won three more awards including best film. Lucy Thripti Gomez was named best supporting actress. Uttorer Sur is the debut film of Shahnewaz Kakoli.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina enlightened the chair of chief guest till the celebration programme ended. The cultural programme after the award distribution ceremony was anchored by Dhallywood superstars Ferdous and Moushumi.

Recalling the golden days of the film industry, a dance recitation Gourabh Gantha presented the history of Bangladeshi film through performances on evergreen songs including “Karar Oi Loho Kopat,” “Aynate Oi MUkh Dekhbe Jokhon,” “Are O Praner Raja,” “Bimurto Ei Ratri Amar,” “Ki Jadu Korila,” “Bender Meye Jostna,” “Ekatturer Maa Jononi” and many others.

Prominent singer Sabina Yasmin rendered one of her popular song “Koto Sadhonay Emon Bhagyo Mele” and Subir Nandi presented another evergreen song “Din Jay Kotha Thake.” Popular singers of this era including SI Tutul, Kona and Habib performed at the event.

The concluding performance of the evening was a group dance recitation by Omar Sunny, Nipun, Shimla, Zayed Khan, Nirob, Amrita Khan and many other stars of the film industry. The programme was organised by the Information Ministry with Information Minister Hasanul Haq Inu as the chair. Chairman of Parliamentary Standing Committee of Information Ministry, AKM Rahmatullah was present as the special guest. 

Top Brokers


Popular Links