Monday, June 24, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

Government declares Jan 5 general holiday

Update : 30 Dec 2013, 09:59 PM

The government has declared general holiday for January 5 in 59 districts to facilitate franchise by the voters in the 10th parliamentary elections.

The public holiday was announced for all government, semi-government, autonomous and private offices, organisations, agencies and educational institutions in those districts except Joypurhat, Shariatpur, Madaripur, Chandpur and Rajbari, said a PID handout yesterday.

There is no need to arrange vote-casting in the five districts as constituencies under the districts got single candidates who are set to be elected unopposed.

The Election Commission will arrange election in 146 constituencies of 300 on January 5 as the rest 154 constituencies got single candidates across the country.

On November 25, the EC announced schedule for the general election.

Top Brokers


Popular Links