Saturday, June 22, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

MNAs, MPAs who sided with Pakistan during Liberation War to be listed

Jatiya Muktijoddha Council will recommend to the government to publish the lists as gazette

Update : 27 Jun 2022, 08:39 PM

The Jatiya Muktijoddha Council will prepare a list of MNAs and MPAs, elected in the 1970 general elections, who took the side of Pakistani occupation forces during the Liberation War.

It will also include the names of those persons who were elected as MNA and MPAs in the by-elections in seat declared vacant by the then Pakistani government as the elected public representatives took part in the Liberation War.

Jatiya Muktijoddha Council will recommend to the government to publish the lists as gazette.

Jatiya Muktijoddha Council has been given extra responsibilities in the report of Jatiya Muktijoddha Council Bill 2022 which was submitted in Parliament on Monday.

Chairman of the Committee Shahjahan Khan placed the report.

As per the Jatiya Muktijoddha Council Bill that was submitted on June 5 the council initially was supposed to prepare the list of Razakars, Al Badr and Al Shams, Mujahid force and Peace Committee members who opposed the independence of the country and were involved in various heinous acts in collaboration with the Pakistani occupational troops.

As per the Bill, there will be a council called Jatiya Muktijoddha Council whose head office will be in Dhaka. It can set up branches anywhere in the country taking prior permission from the government.

The Liberation War Affairs minister will be the chairman of the council. If there is any state minister or deputy minister of the ministry he or she will be the senior vice chairpersons. Secretary of the ministry will be vice chairperson, eight nominated persons by the chief advisor of the advisory council, the prime minister and the director general of the advisory council.

The council will hold at least one meeting every two months.

One of the main tasks of the Council will be preparation of the lists of Razakars, Al Badars and Al Shams who were involved in anti-Liberation activities including killing, raping, arson or opposed Liberation War directly or indirectly.

The advisory council will be headed by the prime minister. The other members of the advisory council will be Liberation War Affairs minister or state minister or deputy minister, five nominated persons by the chief advisor and secretary of the Liberation War Affairs Ministry.

The tenure of the advisory council will be three years.

Top Brokers


Popular Links