Sunday, June 23, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

BTV to get Tk1,391cr for five new centres

Update : 15 Mar 2017, 12:39 AM
State-run Bangladesh Television (BTV) will get five more full-fledged centres in five divisions to strengthen and expand it's coverage. The centres will be set up in Rajshahi, Rangpur, Khulna, Sylhet and Barisal divisions involving Tk1,391 crore, said Planning Minister AHM Mustafa Kamal Tuesday after a meeting of Executive Committee of National Economic Council (Ecnec) in Dhaka, reports BSS. He said Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, also the Ecnec chief, directed the authorities concerned to include Mymensingh into the project for the sixth centre. In the meeting, the Ecnec approved a total of seven development projects including the BTV centres with an outlay of Tk5,238 crore. The government will provide Tk3,455 crore while organisations concerned will fund Tk55.90 cr from own fund and Tk1,727 crore would come as project assistance. The minister said Chinese government would provide Tk988 crore for the BTV centres while the rest amount will be arranged by Bangladesh government to implement the project by 2022.
Top Brokers


Popular Links