• Thursday, Mar 21, 2019
  • Last Update : 02:26 pm
8 DU teachers demand fresh Ducsu...

8 DU teachers demand fresh Ducsu...

Dhaka

Mon, Mar 11 2019

'These incidents have destroyed the image of the teachers of public universities, which are run with...

Airport security misses Ilias Kanchan’s...

Airport security misses Ilias Kanchan’s...

Dhaka

Wed, Mar 6 2019

A  9mm pistol with nine live rounds passed through the domestic terminal entrance scanner without...

‘Palash was an unruly youth’

‘Palash was an unruly youth’

Nation

Mon, Feb 25 2019

Palash used to live in Dhaka, while his family lives and runs a grocery shop in Sonargaon upazila of...

A wave of fire

A wave of fire

Dhaka

Fri, Feb 22 2019

Fire service sources said the cause of the blaze will be ascertained following a thorough investigation,...

Another victim of mistaken identity...

Another victim of mistaken identity...

Nation

Wed, Feb 20 2019

Md Shukkur Shah, 30, owner of a laundry shop at Hazaribagh, walked out of Dhaka Central Jail in Keraniganj...

Two held over Eden College ex-principal...

Two held over Eden College ex-principal...

Dhaka

Fri, Feb 15 2019

One of the detainees has been identified as domestic helper Swapna

The life and times of Rashid...

The life and times of Rashid...

Obituary

Mon, Feb 11 2019

Eminent citizens and senior political figures of Bangladesh termed his departure a great loss for the...

Old, blind, ailing, and guilty

Old, blind, ailing, and guilty

Court

Sun, Feb 10 2019

It was no different a day for the court in Dhaka though. Its premises are still abuzz with presence of...

Drug case backlog taking its toll

Drug case backlog taking its toll

Court

Wed, Feb 6 2019

The High Court has directed lower courts across the country to resolve cases related to narcotics within...

National Food Safety Day: What the government...

National Food Safety Day: What the government...

Nation

Sat, Feb 2 2019

Since contaminated and unsafe foods are a cause of many acute and life-long diseases from diarrhoea to...

HC: Stop playing blind-man’s-bluff about...

HC: Stop playing blind-man’s-bluff about...

Court

Fri, Feb 1 2019

The bench of Justices Moyeenul Islam Chowdhury and Md Ashraful Kamal that declared rivers as living entity...

Slow progress in blogger, publisher...

Slow progress in blogger, publisher...

Nation

Mon, Jan 28 2019

Most of the cases are stuck at the investigation level, with a court having delivered the verdict in...

Ijtema set to be held on Feb 15-17

Ijtema set to be held on Feb 15-17

Nation

Thu, Jan 24 2019

The second largest religious congregation of Muslims will be held in only one phase this year

Tabligh Jamaat resolves internal dispute,...

Tabligh Jamaat resolves internal dispute,...

Government Affairs

Wed, Jan 23 2019

The ijtema will be held jointly by the Tabligh Jamaat factions

RMG workers protest for 3rd day, block...

RMG workers protest for 3rd day, block...

Dhaka

Tue, Jan 8 2019

Apparel workers took to the streets in Uttara and Mirpur, demanding a change in the wage structure

Nine fresh faces made ministers

Nine fresh faces made ministers

Government Affairs

Mon, Jan 7 2019

Another four who were in previous cabinets have been brought back to serve again

Sheikh Hasina drops AL allies in new...

Sheikh Hasina drops AL allies in new...

Government Affairs

Sun, Jan 6 2019

The newly chosen ministers will take oath on Monday

11th parliament takes oath

11th parliament takes oath

Election

Thu, Jan 3 2019

MPs-elect must do so within three days of election results being published in an official gazette

Awami League wins five more years

AL wins five more years

Election

Sun, Dec 30 2018

Awami League and the Grand Alliance clinch 267 seats

Bangladesh goes to polls on Sunday

Bangladesh goes to polls on Sunday

Election

Sun, Dec 30 2018

Awami League wants development continuation, BNP cries for democracy

BNP left with few options in 15...

BNP left with few options in 15...

Election

Tue, Dec 25 2018

The commission, BNP’s last resort, turned down their plea to reschedule voting at these constituencies...