Tuesday, June 25, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

Acme Chattogram win inaugural Hockey Champions Trophy

The port city outfit defeated Shakib al Hasan's Monarch Padma 4-3 in the penalty shootout

Update : 17 Nov 2022, 10:09 PM

Acme Chattogram emerged as the champions of the inaugural franchise hockey league, Hockey Champions Trophy, after beating Monarch Mart Padma in a thrilling final at Maulana Bhashani Stadium in Dhaka Thursday.

The scoreline was locked at 2-2 after stipulated time as national forward Arshad Hossain stuck on both occasions to help Chattogram come from behind.

Chattogram won the shootout 4-3 to lift the maiden title.  

Japanese Miya Tanimitsu gave Padma the lead from the first penalty corner of the game in the 14th minute after his strike followed by Rasel Mahmud Jimmy's push deflected off before hitting the back of the board.

Chattogram came back strong in the third quarter after the previous one ended in a dull affair.

They earned a couple of penalty corners, but failed to convert any before Arshad equaled the margin in the 42nd minute following a quick build-up.

Krishna Kumar put Padma ahead again three minutes later, connecting a pass from Indian Saif Khan from close-range, but Arshad brought parity again just two minutes before the end of stipulated time, and sent the game into penalty shootout.

Chattogram looked favorites after first few matches, while Padma, owned by cricket superstar Shakib al Hasan, had a poor start, conceding successive defeats in their first two matches, before staging a brilliant comeback to finish among top-four.

A total of six franchise teams took part in the competition as Padma, Chattogram, Rupayan City Cumilla and Metro Express Barishal qualified from the first round, showing Saif Group Khulna and Walton Dhaka the exit door.

Arshad was adjudged the player of the final.

Obaidul Haq Joy of Cumilla became the most promising player of the tournament, while Ashim Gope of Barishal received best goalkeeper's award. 

Chattogram's Devindar Walmiki of India finished as top scorer with 18 goals, and was adjudged the player of the tournament.

Top Brokers


Popular Links