Friday, June 21, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

Kool-BSJA Media Cup: 10th silverware for Dhaka Tribune’s trophy cabinet

Incidentally, Dhaka Tribune have never failed to win a final and the players made sure to keep that record intact

Update : 06 Oct 2019, 02:16 AM

Reigning champions Dhaka Tribune retained their title as winners of the Kool-BSJA Media Cup 2019 football tournament, organized by Bangladesh Sports Journalists Association and sponsored by Square Toiletries, at the BFF artificial turf in Motijheel Saturday. 

The final of the five-day tournament featuring Dhaka Tribune and Samakal ended in a goalless stalemate despite both teams creating multiple chances under the scorching sun, before the game went to penalties to decide on a winner.

Once there, it was all about Dhaka Tribune who were clinical in netting all five of their spotkicks while their stand-in keeper denied one from Samakal to ensure the 10th trophy for the English daily’s trophy cabinet.

Incidentally, Dhaka Tribune have never failed to win a final and the players made sure to keep that record intact.

Earlier, Dhaka Tribune fared against a resilient Daily Star in the semis as the former managed to defeat the latter courtesy a solitary goal. 

While the scoreline suggests a modest game, it was in fact, one way traffic from Dhaka Tribune who were denied by Star’s keeper on multiple occasions. 

In the other semi-final of the day, Samakal outclassed tournament favorite Channel i during penalties after regulation time ended without a goal scored.

Dhaka Tribune captain BM Fazley Rabbi Moon, who received the player of the tournament award (Masud Ahmed Rumi trophy) was also named man of the final, while Jaago News’ Moniruzzaman Uzzal finished as the highest goal-scorer with seven goals.

Deepto TV meanwhile, won the Al Musabbir Sadi Pamel fair play trophy. 

Jamie Day, head coach of the Bangladesh football team, was present along with Bangladesh Football Federation general secretary Abu Nayeem Shohag, former national coach Saiful Bari Titu, former national footballer Abdus Salam and other BSJA members.

In his presentation ceremony speech, Day said it was heartening for him to see such passion among the sports journalists for the game of football and praised the winning team for their valiant effort.

Dhaka Tribune received Tk30,000 as prize money while Samakal got Tk15,000.

Top Brokers


Popular Links