Thursday, June 13, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

NZ beat Bangladesh by 27 runs to pick up consolation win

The Tigers finished the series with a 3-2 win, which followed their historic 4-1 series victory against Australia

Update : 10 Sep 2021, 03:51 PM

Visitors New Zealand put in a clinical performance to pick up a consolation 27-run win against Bangladesh in the fifth and final T20I at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium Friday.

It mattered little though in the end as the Tigers finished the series with a 3-2 win, which followed their historic 4-1 series victory against Australia.

In pursuit of 162, a 63-run stand for the fifth wicket between Afif Hossain (49*) and captain Mahmudullah (23) raised hope of a Bangladesh win but the Kiwis struck at regular intervals to restrict the home side to 134/8 in 20 overs.

After Mahmudullah's departure, Afif carried on and remained unbeaten on 33 deliveries, falling one short of only his second T20I fifty.

Other than these two, only openers Mohammad Naim (23) and Liton Das (10) reached double digit in Bangladesh's last competitive outing before the first round of the T20 World Cup.

The home side's tormentor in this series, Ajaz Patel bagged two wickets, while Scott Kuggeleijn also picked up two.

The Kiwis earlier posted 161 losing half their side in 20 overs, their highest total in the series.

That the Tigers had already secured the series meant the Black Caps had nothing to lose, and it showed in their batting display as the Kiwi openers put on their highest opening wicket partnership in this series - 58.

Finn Allen (41) was the more attacking of the two openers, while Rachin Ravindra made 17 as the tourists were off to a brisk start.

Captain Tom Latham (50*) ensured the solid foundation was not wasted as he grabbed his second T20I fifty to guide his side to a fighting total.

Shariful Islam picked up two wickets but leaked 48 runs in his quota of four overs, while Nasum Ahmed, Taskin Ahmed and Afif all bagged a wicket each.

New Zealand skipper Latham earlier won the toss and decided to bat first.

The Tigers have played the same side in the first four T20Is against the Kiwis, but made four changes for the final T20I.

Shakib al Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Saifuddin and Mahedi Hasan were replaced by Soumya Sarkar, Taskin, Shariful and Shamim Hossain.

There were three changes for the Kiwis; Kuggeleijn, Ben Sears and Jacob Duffy came into the side in place of Blair Tickner, Hamish Bennett and Tom Blundell.

Bangladesh: Mohammad Naim, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Nurul Hasan (wk), Mahmudullah (capt), Shamim Hossain, Nasum Ahmed, Taskin Ahmed, Shariful Islam

New Zealand: Finn Allen, Rachin Ravindra, Will Young, Colin de Grandhomme, Tom Latham (capt & wk), Henry Nicholls, Cole McConchie, Scott Kuggeleijn, Ajaz Patel, Jacob Duffy, Ben Sears

Top Brokers


Popular Links