Saturday, June 15, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

Liton leads Bangladesh to convincing win

This is Bangladesh’s largest ODI victory by runs, with the previous best, 163-run victory, coming against Sri Lanka in 2018

Update : 01 Mar 2020, 04:43 PM

Opening batsman Liton Das registered his second ODI century as Bangladesh romped to a comprehensive 169-run win over hapless Zimbabwe in the first of three matches at Sylhet International Cricket Stadium Sunday.

This is Bangladesh’s largest ODI victory by runs, with the previous best, 163-run victory, coming against Sri Lanka in 2018.

The game also saw Bangladesh ODI captain Mashrafe bin Mortaza emerge as the fifth skipper to bag 100 wickets in 50-over cricket, and reach the 700-wicket milestone in his professional career.

Liton was going strong on 126 but had to retire hurt due to the heat and humidity.

However, it did not hurt Bangladesh at all as middle-order batsman Mohammad Mithun (50) and all-rounder Saifuddin (28*) struck some lusty blows to take their side well past the 300-mark.

Earlier, batting first, Bangladesh put on 50 without loss inside 11 overs.

Saifuddin appeals successfully for the lbw decision of Regis Chakabva BCB

As it has been several times in the past, opener Tamim Iqbal took some time to settle down in the middle while Liton played the role of the aggressor, taking on the Zimbabwe bowlers from the very first over of the innings.

Tamim though made only 24 before being trapped in front.

The 19-year old spinner Wesley Madhevere struck Tamim’s pad with an off-break, following which, the left-handed batsman asked for a referral. 

The review though showed that the ball was hitting the timber.

Liton however, progressed from the other end, first getting to his half century in 45 balls alongside youngster Nazmul Hossain Shanto.

Shanto, who was sharp in the middle, calling for quick singles, added 29 to the tally before being pinned in front, thus paving the way for the experienced Mushfiqur Rahim to arrive to the crease.

Bangladesh players react BCB

Liton soon reached his ton before retiring hurt due to cramp, and leaving the job at the hands of the other Bangladesh batters.

Mahmudullah added some quick runs before departing for a 28-ball 32, while Mithun hit a 41-ball 50, before Saifuddin took matters into his own hands.

The Feni lad hammered an unbeaten 15-ball 28 and cleared the rope three times with massive hits, lifting the host to an imposing total.

Bangladesh later ruled with the ball too with Saifuddin leading from the front with three wickets.

Zimbabwe were skittled out for 152 in 39.1 overs as only two batters scored more than 18 – Madhevere (35) and Tinotenda Mutombodzi (24).

Bangladesh took wickets at regular intervals as Mashrafe and spinner Mehedi Hasan Miraz bagged two scalps each to complement Saifuddin’s effort.

The second and penultimate ODI will be played at the same venue Tuesday.



Liton retired hurt            126    105

Tamim lbw b Madhevere        24    43

Shanto lbw b Mutombodzi        29    38

Mushfiq c Mutumbami b Tiripano    19    26

Mahmudullah lbw b Mpofu        32    28

Mithun lbw b Mpofu            50    41

Saifuddin not out            28    15

Miraz c Kamunhukamwe b Mumba    7    4

Mashrafe not out            0    0

Extras (lb 1, w 5)            6 

Total (50 Overs)                321/6 

Fall Of Wickets

1-60 (Tamim), 2-140 (Shanto), 3-182 (Mushfiq), 3-206* (Liton), 4-274 (Mahmudullah), 5-289 (Mithun), 6-298 (Miraz)


Mpofu 10-0-68-2, Mumba 8-0-45-1, Madhevere 8-0-48-1, Tiripano 7-0-56-1, Raza 10-0-56-0, Mutombodzi 7-0-47-1

ZIMBABWE INNINGS            R    B

Kamunhukamwe b Saifuddin        1    10

Chibhabha c Mahmudullah b Mashrafe     10    22

Chakabva lbw b Saifuddin        11    18

Taylor b Taijul                 8    15

Madhevere c Mashrafe b Miraz        35    44

Raza c Mahmudullah b Mustafizur     18    32

Mutumbami run out (Shanto/Mushfiq)    17    14

Mutombodzi c Saifuddin b Mashrafe     24    47

Tiripano c & b Miraz            2    13

Mumba b Saifuddin            13    12

Mpofu not out                9    8

Extras (lb 1, w 3)            4 

Total (39.1 Overs)            152 all out 

Fall Of Wickets

1-1 (Kamunhukamwe), 2-23 (Chakabva), 3-23 (Chibhabha), 4-44 (Taylor), 5-79 (Raza), 6-84 (Madhevere), 7-106 (Mutumbami), 8-109 (Tiripano), 9-130 (Mumba), 10-152 (Mutombodzi)


Mustafizur 6-0-22-1, Saifuddin 7-0-22-3, Mashrafe 6.1-0-35-2, Taijul 9-2-27-1, Miraz 8-1-33-2, Mahmudullah 3-0-12-0

Bangladesh won by 169 runs, take 1-0 lead in 3-ODI series

MoM: Liton Das

Top Brokers


Popular Links