Thursday, June 20, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

Rajshahi rule the roost at BBPL

This article was published in the January issue of Sports Tribune magazine

Update : 06 Feb 2020, 07:12 PM

Rajshahi Royals lifted the BBPL trophy after defeating Khulna Tigers in the grand finale of the seven-team tournament on January 17 at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka.

The tournament finished on a positive note with some exciting on-field action, but a common sentiment had remained – wishes for the franchises to come back next season.

The seventh edition of the BPL T20 was organized to mark the birth centenary of the Father of the Nation, Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, but only after the franchises were left out following disputes with the Bangladesh Cricket Board over certain terms of the tournament.

BCB had taken over matters in their own hands, bringing in sponsors for each team and arranging the competition single-handedly.

The opening ceremony of the tournament was held in grand fashion with the participation of Bollywood superstars Salman Khan and Katrina Kaif, alongside local celebrities.

However, when the tournament rolled on the field, it was marked with controversies.

In the competition opener between Sylhet Thunder and Chattogram Challengers, the former’s pacer Krishmar Santokie made the headlines for his gigantic wide and outlandish no-ball, followed by revelation of conflict between Sylhet team director Tanjil Chowdhury and one of the sponsors.

BCB Anti-Corruption Unit later interrogated Santokie and the West Indies cricketer came out clean, but doubts remained throughout the season as to what actually transpired in the Sylhet dressing room. 

The unrest in the dressing room perhaps affected the team performance as they concluded their campaign with just one win, the worst result by any side in the competition’s history.

The tournament was off to a dry start with the presence of low crowds in the stands.

The board made very little efforts in the way of promotion and the franchises’ absence also contributed to the lack of interest among the local fans.

Only exciting performances and encounters on the field injected some much needed life and color to the tournament.

As far as the locals are concerned, young pacers were the first to get into the limelight, including the likes of Mehedi Hasan Rana, Shahidul Islam and Ebadat Hossain.

Soon though the seniors bounced back as Mustafizur Rahman and Rubel Hossain finished among the highest wicket-takers for the season.

With the bat, Mushfiqur Rahim and Liton Das ruled the roost among the locals, as they emerged as the second and third highest run-scorer with 491 and 455 runs respectively.

Top Brokers


Popular Links