Thursday, June 13, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

Call for Submission: The Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2022

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2022 is open for submissions until November 1, 2021.
Update : 06 Oct 2021, 03:55 PM

The prize is free to enter and open to any citizen of a Commonwealth country who is aged 18 and over. It is awarded for the best piece of unpublished short fiction (2,000–5,000 words). Regional winners each receive £2,500 and the opportunity to be published online by Granta magazine, and the overall winner receives £5,000, according to an announcement made by Commonwealth Writers on its website.

Apart from English, stories are accepted in the Bengali, Chinese, Creole, French, Greek, Kiswahili, Malay, Portuguese, Samoan, Tamil and Turkish languages. Translated entries from any language into English are also eligible. If the winning story is a translation, the translator receives additional prize money, said the announcement.

It is judged by a panel of judges representing each of the five regions of the Commonwealth: Africa, Asia, Canada and Europe, the Caribbean and the Pacific.

Sri Lankan writer Kanya D'Almeida was named the overall winner of the 2021 Commonwealth Short Story Prize for her story “I Cleaned The— ”.

For further information and submission, click here.


Top Brokers


Popular Links