Wednesday, June 26, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

EC: Polling in 20 upazilas postponed due to Cyclone Remal on June 9

  • Fourth phase of voting will be conducted in 57 upazilas
  • Over 450 upazilas participating in four-phase election
Update : 29 May 2024, 03:56 PM

The Election Commission (EC) has rescheduled the upazila parishad polls, originally postponed due to Cyclone Remal, to June 9.

Election Commission Secretary Md Jahangir Alam informed journalists of these changes at the Election Commission office in Agargaon, Dhaka, on Wednesday.

He said: "The EC has decided on the voting for the postponed upazilas. Voting in coastal areas will be held on June 9, while polling in Faridganj and Kachua upazilas of Chandpur will be held on June 5, the day of the fourth phase of polling. Voting in Chandina upazila of Comilla, previously suspended due to legal issues, will also be held on the same day. Altogether, the fourth phase of voting will be conducted in 57 upazilas."

Out of the 495 upazilas in the country, more than 450 upazilas are participating in the four-phase election process this time. Voting was completed in 139 upazilas during the first phase on May 8, in 156 upazilas during the second phase on May 21, and in 87 upazilas during the third phase on Wednesday. The fourth phase of voting is scheduled for June 5, followed by the rescheduled elections on June 9.

The 20 upazilas where voting was postponed are Sarankhola, Morrelganj, Mongla, Koyra in Khulna, Paikgachha and Dumuria, Gaurnadi and Agailjhara in Barisal, Patuakhali Sadar, Mirzaganj and Dumki, Mathbaria in Pirojpur, Tazumuddin in Bhola, Lalmohan, Rajapur and Kathalia in Jhalakathi, Bamna in Barguna, Patharghata, Baghaichhari in Rangamati, and Khaliajuri upazila in Netrokona.

Top Brokers


Popular Links