Sunday, June 16, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

BNP submits list of cases against leaders to the CEC

The letter mentions that around 773 BNP leaders have been arrested since the polls schedule was announced

Update : 18 Nov 2018, 03:05 PM

BNP on Sunday submitted a list of cases filed against its leaders and workers to Chief Election Commissioner KM Nurul Huda.

According to the list, the total number of cases filed from January to November 14 is 4,429.  The list said a total number of accused stands at 434,975 persons with 109,441 named and 325,534 unnamed accused. 10,472 have been arrested from the cases filed so far. 

BNP leader Salauddin Khan submitted the list attached with a letter signed by BNP Secretary General Fakhrul Islam Alamgir to the CEC's office in Agargaon in the morning.

Some 773 BNP leaders and workers were arrested after the Commission announced the election schedule on November 8, the letter says.

In the letter, BNP requested the CEC to drop the cases against their leaders and workers and to stop arbitrary arrests of them. 

It further said law enforcement agencies kept arresting BNP leaders and activists by filing false and fictitious cases against them across the country since September 1, ahead of the next general elections.

The letter went on to saying that thousands of false, fabricated, peculiar, baseless, fictitious and politically motivated cases were filed against its central unit and different grass roots units' leaders across the country after Awami League came to power in 2009.

“Even the names of dead, ailing and maimed persons, hajj pilgrims, and persons living abroad were accused in the fictitious cases,” the letter reads.

In the letter BNP said they were not aware if the cases were withdrawn or if the arrested leaders were released after they sent the list of cases to the prime minister. 

BNP had earlier submitted two lists of 2,048 cases to the Prime Minister's Office (PMO) on November 6 and November 13 after the two rounds of talks were held between Jatiya Oikya Front and Awami League-led 14-party alliance at Ganabhaban.

Top Brokers


Popular Links