Monday, May 20, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

Grameen Bank yet to get new chairman

Update : 06 Dec 2014, 06:10 PM

A new chairman for Grameen Bank has not been appointed according to the amended rules, four months after the incumbent chairman announced his intention to step down on grounds of poor health.

On August 6 last year, the government-appointed Grameen Bank (GB) chairman, Khondaker Mozammel Haque, announced his intention to step down on grounds of poor health but Finance Minister AMA Muhith refused to accept the resignation letter and asked him to continue.

Asked, Bank and Financial Institutions Division Secretary M Aslam Alam on Thursday said: “We have yet to select somebody for the post of the GB chairmanship as well as that of state-owned Sonali Bank.”

Sources at GB said the incumbent chairman, although officially in his post, was indifferent to his work.

Although some 13 months have elapsed since the last chairman’s resignation, the government has failed to choose the right person to fill the top post at the world-renowned micro-lender, the secretary added.

In this regard, Tahsina Khatun, a director at the micro-credit institution and also spokesperson for the nine directly elected directors, said: “We held the last meeting of the board of directors in October without the chairman as he was seriously ill. He attended several meetings earlier despite his resignation move.”

The tenure of the nine directors will expire on February 15 next year, and the election for appointing directors is supposed to be held two months before the deadline, she added.

“I do not know when the government will arrange the election under the new election rules as we have strongly protested the amendment,” Tahsina also said.

In November this year, the government amended the election rules of the GB to give itself the authority to appoint all nine directors.

Also, the state authorities can form a three-member committee to elect the nine members in lieu of the central bank.

The present committee is comprised of an official from a state-owned commercial bank, another from the Palli Karma-Sahayak Foundation and the third is a former district judge who served as the chief election commissioner. 

Top Brokers


Popular Links