Sunday, May 19, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

21 prominent individuals get Ekushey Padak

  • Two named in Language Movement category
  • 11 for Shilpakala
Update : 13 Feb 2024, 08:35 PM

A total of 21 individuals will get the country's second-highest civilian award, the Ekushey Padak, this year in recognition of their contributions to various fields.

The Cultural Affairs Ministry announced the names in a circular signed by Deputy Secretary Irin Farzana on Tuesday.
The release said this year two people got the award in the Language Movement category, one for making documentation on the Liberation War, 11 for Shilpakala (acting, music, recitation, arts, and painting), two for social service, one for education, and four for language and literature.
Md Ashrafuddin Ahmed and freedom fighter Hatem Ali Mia (posthumously) have been named for the award in the Language Movement category.
Jalal Uddin Khan (posthumously), Freedom Fighter Kalyani Ghosh, Bidit Lal Das (posthumously), Andrew Kishore (posthumously) and Shuvra Deb will receive the award in the category of Shilpakala (music) while Shibli Mohammad in Shilpakala (dance), Dolly Zahur and MA Alamgir in Shilpakala (acting), Khan Md Mustafa Walid (Shimul Mustafa), Rupa Chakraborty in Shilpakala (recitation), Shajahan Ahmed Bikash in Shilpakala (painting), Kawsar Chowdhury in Shilpakala (documentation), Md Ziaul Haque and Rafique Ahmed in social service, Muhammad Samad, Luthfur Rahman Riton, Minar Mansur and Rudra Mohammad Shahidullah (posthumously) (language and literature) and Professor Dr Venerable Jinabodhi (education) have been named for the awards.

Top Brokers


Popular Links