Tuesday, June 18, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

28 officials, 2 govt depts to receive Bangabandhu Public Admin Award

  • Awards will be given on Monday
  • PM Hasina will be present as chief guest
  • Nominees will get gold medal, certificate and cash
Update : 27 Jul 2023, 08:41 PM

Twenty-eight officials of the administration and two government departments will receive the “Bangabandhu Public Administration Medal”.

Of the 28 officers, 23 will receive medals in the team category and five in the individual category.

The Ministry of Public Administration has finalized the list of recipients of the "Bangabandhu Public Administration Award" at the national level.

State Minister for Public Administration Farhad Hossain told UNB that the “Bangabandhu Public Administration Medal” will be handed over to the nominees at the Osmani Memorial Auditorium in the capital on Monday on the occasion of “National Public Service Day”.

The nominees have already been notified, he said.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will be present as the chief guest at the award ceremony.

The state minister said since 2016, the “Public Administration Medal” was given to the officials of the administration to encourage efficiency, mindfulness and innovative efforts.

Since last year, the name of the “Public Administration Medal” has been changed and the award is now given to officers who have contributed in various fields in a new way.

National Public Service Day is celebrated every year on June 23. The theme of the day is “Shobar Aage Shushashon, Jonobshebay Udbhabon (Good Governance First, Innovation in Public Service)”.

According to the Ministry of Public Administration, this time the Ministry of Food will get the award in the category of “Policy and Administrative System Reform” and the National Heart Institute and Hospital in the category of “Research and Its Use for Human Welfare”.

Former deputy commissioner of Lakshmipur Md Anwar Hossain Akand (now deputy secretary of Health Services Division), Lakshmipur Civil Surgeon Dr Ahmed Kabir, former additional deputy commissioner (ADC) of Lakshmipur and now Deputy Director of BCS Administration Academy Noor-e-Alam, former upazila nirbahi officer (UNO) of Sadar upazila Imran Hossain (now executive magistrate of BSTI) and Raipur Upazila Nirbahi Officer Anjan Das will receive the award in the “General Administration and Management” category.

Former deputy commissioner of Khagrachhari district Pratap Chandra Biswas, former ADC of Khagrachhari KM Yasir Arafat (now senior assistant secretary of the Ministry of Public Administration), former assistant commissioner of Khagrachhari district Basudeb Kumar Malo (now assistant commissioner-land) and former assistant commissioner of Khagrachhari Sheikh Naushad Hasan (now assistant commissioner of Magura district) will get the award in the “Development Administration” category.

Four officers have been nominated in the “Economic Development” category. 

Among them are Former deputy commissioner of Shariatpur Md Parvez Hasan (now additional divisional commissioner of Barisal), former deputy director of Agriculture Extension Department of Shariatpur Md Matlubar Rahman, Zajira UNO Kamrul Hasan Sohel and Agriculture Officer of Jazira upazila Md Jamal Hossain.

Five people will receive medals in the “Environmental Development” category. 

They are former deputy commissioner of Habiganj Ishrat Jahan (now deputy secretary of Economic Relations Division), Habiganj Additional Deputy Commissioner (General) Mintu Chowdhury, former executive engineer of Habiganj district Water Development Board Md Shahnewaz Talukder (now Satkhira executive engineer), Habiganj Assistant Commissioner Navid Sarwar and Habiganj Municipality Assistant Engineer Dilip Kumar Dutta.

Five people are getting medals in the “Human Resource Development” category. 

They are Gaibandha Bangladesh Rural Development Board (BRDB) Deputy Director Md Abdus Sabur, Gaibandha Sadar upazila Rural Development Officer Md Tahajul Islam, Sundarganj upazila Rural Development Officer Abul Kamal Azad, Gobindaganj upazila Rural Development Officer Md Enamul Haque and Palashbari upazila Rural Development Officer Md Hasanuzzaman.

Gazipur Civil Surgeon Dr Md Khairuzzaman has been awarded in the category of “Disaster and Crisis Management”.

Bishwambarpur Upazila Nirbahi Officer (UNO) Md Saadi Ur Rahim Jadid has also been awarded.

On the other hand, former intelligence officer and commander of RAB-11's Anti-Terrorism Unit Mirza Salahuddin (now deputy police commissioner of DMP) will receive the award in the “Crime Prevention” category. Panchagarh's Tetulia Upazila Nirbahi Officer Sohag Chandra Saha will also receive the award in the category of “Innovation in Public Service”. 

In the “Science and Technology” category, Naogaon upazila Livestock Officer Dr Md Nazmul Haque will receive the Bangabandhu Public Administration Award.

The state minister said the government awarded the public administration medal for the first time on July 23, 2016, to increase the creativity of the employees working in the public administration, encourage skill development and accelerate the achievement of the government's development goals.

The award was given as part of the celebration of National Public Service Day on July 23. 

The “Public Administration Medal Policy 2015 (revised in 2016)” was formulated to give the award. 

This year, the policy was scrapped and the “Bangabandhu Public Administration Medal Policy, 2022” was formulated.

According to the new policy, Bangabandhu Public Administration Medal is being given for its important contribution in the field of general administration and management, development administration, social development and management, human development, economic development, environmental development, disaster and crisis management, crime prevention, innovation in public service, reform of policy and administrative methods, its use in research and human welfare and science and technology.

The government employees who receive the “Bangabandhu Public Administration Medal” and employees belonging to the person or team who have already received the medal at the national level can use the title “BPAA” at the end of the name.

According to the policy, the monogram of “Bangabandhu Public Administration Medal” approved by the government can be used along with the dress in the official program of the government.

Farhad Hossain said that the nominees will be given a gold medal (weighing 15 grams) and a certificate with a state monogram as prizes.

A total of Tk2 lakh will be given for individual contribution and Tk5 lakh for team contribution. 

In terms of team contribution, the maximum number of members of the team is five.

Each member of the team will be given a gold medal, a certificate and a crest and a cash prize of Tk5 lakh will be distributed equally among the members. 

Gold medals, crests and certificates will be given in the case of the institution.

Top Brokers


Popular Links