Sunday, May 26, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

2 Bangladeshis get Aga Khan architecture award

Update : 10 Mar 2017, 01:40 AM
The winners – Marina Tabassum for the Bait Ur Rouf Mosque in Dhaka and Kashef Chowdhury for the Friendship Centre in Gaibandha – are among six winners from 348 nominated projects in 69 countries. The award ceremony was jointly organised by the Aga Khan Development Network and Ministry of Cultural Affairs at the Ismaili Jamatkhana Centre in Dhaka. Minister of Cultural Affairs Asaduzzaman Noor handed out the awards at the event. Chairperson of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Ministry of Foreign Affairs and former foreign minister Dipu Moni and the Director of Aga Khan Award for Architecture Farrokh Derakhshani were present at the event. Established by the Aga Khan Foundation in 1977 to identify and encourage building concepts that successfully address the needs and aspirations of communities in which Muslims have a significant presence, this is one of the oldest and most prestigious awards in architecture. Three other Bangladeshi projects earlier received the award: the National Assembly Building, designed by Louis I Kahn, won in 1989, the Grameen Bank Housing Programme in 1989 and the METI School in Rudrapur in 2007.
Top Brokers


Popular Links