Thursday, June 20, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

Coronavirus: Countries that have detected the new strain

Here are another six countries outside the UK that have reported detection of the new strain

Update : 22 Dec 2020, 02:46 PM

A new strain of coronavirus is sweeping across Britain and has caused alarm in Europe, leading to several EU countries issuing travel bans on the UK in an effort to stop the mutation from spreading.

British Prime Minister Boris Johnson has warned that the fast-moving new variant of the virus is 70% more transmissible than existing strains and it will likely become the dominant global strain in the months to come.

Here are another six countries outside the UK that have reported detection of the new strain:


Italy detected a patient infected with the new strain of the coronavirus, found in Britain, on Sunday.

The patient and his partner had returned from the United Kingdom in the few days prior, on a flight that landed at Rome’s Fiumicino airport. 

The country announced on Sunday that it is blocking all flights from the UK until January 6.


Netherlands announced on Sunday that it had detected the same virus strain as that found in the UK in early December. 

Also Read- Bangladesh mulls measures against new Covid-19 strain in UK

It banned flights carrying passengers from the United Kingdom from Sunday, saying that the ban comes as a result of the UK announcing that the virus is 70% more transmissible than existing strains, reports Reuters.


Australia confirmed that it detected two cases of the fast-spreading new coronavirus strain on Monday.

However, despite concerns, Australian officials have said that the country will not ban British travelers solely due to the new coronavirus strain.

South Africa

South Africa’s health minister said on Friday that the country is experiencing a new variant of the coronavirus that is driving a second wave of infections. It is not confirmed if this new strain of coronavirus is the same as the one spreading across the UK, reports Deutsche Welle.

Several countries including Germany and Switzerland have banned flights from South Africa as a result.

Belgium, Iceland, Denmark

The European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) has said on Monday that a few cases with the new variant have been detected in Belgium, Iceland and Denmark, reports Deutsche Welle.

Belgium and Denmark have already responded by banning flights from the UK.

The new strain of coronavirus comes nearly 10 months after the start of the pandemic in March, when a strain of the virus named Covid-19 emerged in the Wuhan state of China. The pandemic has already infected 77,740,380 people and killed 1,709,474 people across the world, according to Worldometer.

Top Brokers


Popular Links