Thursday, May 23, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

10-man Kings beat Mohammedan to retain Independence Cup title

Kings were unbeaten throughout the campaign en route to their 3rd Independence Cup title

Update : 18 Dec 2023, 07:20 PM

10-man Bashundhara Kings defeated Mohammedan Sporting Club 2-1 in the grand finale to retain the Independence Cup 2023 title at Sheikh Fazlul Haque Mani Stadium in Gopalganj Monday.

Following a goalless opening half, the first 10 minutes after the break was filled with incidents, including a straight red card and a couple of goals in between the space of only one minute.

The game was mostly all square before Brazilian striker Dorielton Gomez sealed victory four minutes before the end of normal time to secure his side’s second Independence Cup title in a row.

Oscar Bruzon made one change from the semi-final line-up, sending youngster Sheikh Morsalin to the bench to hand Rafiqul Islam his maiden final appearance.

Referee Jalal Uddin gave Rafiqul his marching orders three minutes into the second half for a risky high-foot tackle, followed by a kick on a Mohammedan player off the ball.

The Black and Whites took the lead three minutes later through a header from Nigerian midfielder Emmanuel Sunday on a Muzaffarov corner.

The lead did not last long as in-form national winger Rakib Hossain equalized with a grounder from the top of the box after Robson Robinho’s initial effort was blocked.

Mohammedan could not make any notable threat despite a man’s advantage as Dorielton, set up by Miguel Figueira, fired home into the near post to spark celebrations among the Kings supporters.

Earlier in the fifth minute, it was Rafiqul who got the first chance when he collected a long ball from Uzbekistan defender Boburbek Yuldashov at the edge of the box but could not utilize the opportunity.

Robson tried his luck from long range with a bullet strike just before the quarter hour but Sujon Hossain was on spot to produce a decent save.

Dorielton heading over a Md Sohel Rana cross in the 38th minute was the last attack by the Kings in the first half.

The Bangladesh Premier League champions were unbeaten throughout the campaign en route to their third Independence Cup title.


Kings 2 (Rakib 52, Dorielton 86) Mohammedan 1 (Sunday 48)

Top Brokers


Popular Links