Monday, April 15, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

Sky blues must win to stay alive

Update : 28 Apr 2013, 05:42 PM

After a break of 10 days, Grameenphone Bangladesh Premier League resumes today with the crucial encounter between defending champions Abahani Limited and Team BJMC at the Bangabandhu National Stadium.

In the other match of the day, Mohammedan Sporting Club will travel to Feni for their match against Feni Soccer Club at the Bhasha Shaheed Salam Stadium.

Currently placed second in the league, the holders trail table-toppers Sheikh Russell by three points while the latter are also ahead in goal difference by one. With only two rounds left in the league, a win for Abahani in today’s match, which kicks-off at 5pm, will see them rise to number one and exert pressure on Russell.

The path is not easy for the title chasers Abahani, but at the same time it is not easy for Russell too. The sky blues must win their remaining two games against strong competitors like BJMC and Muktijoddha KC while at the same time they must hope for Russell to drop points.

Sheikh Russell, on the other hand, have a tough fixture against Sheikh Jamal on May 1 and they will be eyeing a win to close on to their treble of the season. Earlier in the season, they bagged the Federation Cup and the Independence Cup. 

Meanwhile at the bottom Arambagh KS are all but relegated as they have gathered only six points from 14 matches. They trail Feni and Brothers Union by five points.

Mohammedan and BJMC sit fourth and fifth in the table with 24 and 20 points respectively. The season have been frustrating for the last edition’s runners-up Muktijoddha who managed only four wins to rest at sixth place.

GP Bangladesh Premier League

POS        Teams                                P             W            D             L              GD          PTS

1              Sheikh Russel KC             14           10           2              2              14           32

2              Abahani Ltd                      14           8              5              1              13           29

3              Sheikh Jamal DCL            14           8              4              2              11           28

4              Mohammedan SC             15           7              3              5              0              24

5              Team BJMC                     14           5              5              4              2              20

6              Muktijoddha SKC             15           4              4              7              -2            16

7              Brothers Union                 14           2              5              7              -7            11

8              Soccer Club                     14           3              2              9              -9            11

9              Arambagh KS                  14           2              0              12           -22          6



Popular Links