Monday, June 24, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

Bangladesh Premier Football League 2017 Best XI

Update : 22 Mar 2018, 07:56 PM
Formation: 4-4-2 or 4-3-3Goalkeeper: Shahidul Alam Sohel (Abahani)Centre-backs: Nasir Uddin Chowdhury (Captain, Abahani) and Topu Barman (Saif Sporting)Left-back: Waly Faisal (Abahani)Right-back: Nasirul Islam (Mohammedan)Midfielders: Emon Mahmud (Abahani), Masuk Mia Joni (Chittagong Abahani), Jabed Khan (Sheikh Jamal) and Mohammad Abdullah (Chittagong Abahani) Emon Mahmud (Abahani)Centre forwards: Sunday Chizoba (Abahani) and Raphael Odoyin (Sheikh Jamal) It was difficult to put Abahani Limited defender Nasir Uddin Chowdhury in the proper playing position as the versatile centre-back also played as defensive midfielder this season. There are a few more players who also deserved attention and can easily be put into the bench. The near misses are goalkeeper Ashraful Islam Rana (Chittagong Abahani Limited), defenders Khalekuzzaman Sabuj (Sheikh Russel Krira Chakra), Samad Yussif (Abahani), Alison Udoka and Sushanta Tripura (Chittagong Abahani), midfielders Abu Sufian Sufil and Arif (Arambagh Krira Sangha), Zahid Hossain and Jafar Iqbal (Chittagong Abahani), forwards Towhidul Alam Sabuj (Chittagong Abahani), Solomon Kanform (Lt. Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club) and Kingsley Chigozie (Mohammedan Sporting Club Limited). The squad was prepared after countless discussions with the experienced coaches of the Bangladesh Football Federation, like Bayazid Alam Zubair Nipu, KM Zabid Hossain and Qazi Altaful Huq, who observed majority of the BPL matches this season. Former national head coach Saiful Bari Titu's expert opinion also helped to form the squad. In accordance with the rules and regulations of the 2017-18 season, only two foreigners were allowed in the playing XI so we have drafted the best XI accordingly. Experienced coach Maruful Haque, who managed Arambagh last season, was chosen as the coach of the best XI. Arambagh coach Maruful HaqueBPL 2017-18 hat-tricksPlayer Club Opposition DateValencia Saif Sporting Brothers 26/08/17Odoyin Sk Jamal Farashganj 13/10/17Odoyin Sk Jamal Arambagh 11/12/17 Sunday Chizoba (Abahani)Highest scorers15: Raphael Odoyin and Solomon Kanform (both Sheikh Jamal)13: Kingsley Chigozie (Mohammedan)10: Siyo Zunapiyo (Brothers)9: Sunday Chizoba (Abahani) and Alamli Bukola (Arambagh)8: Eleta Kingsley (BJMC) and Towhidul Alam Sabuj (Abahani) Shahidul Alam Sohel (Abahani)Roll of honourSeason Champion Runners-up2007 Abahani Mohammedan2008-09 Abahani Mohammedan2009-10 Abahani Mohammedan2010-11 Sheikh Jamal Muktijoddha2012 Abahani Muktijoddha Sangsad2012-13 Sheikh Russel Sheikh Jamal2013-14 Sheikh Jamal Abahani2015 Sheikh Jamal Sheikh Russel2016 Abahani Chittagong Abahani2017 Abahani Sheikh Jamal  Points tableSl. Team M GD Pts1 Abahani 22 +22 522 Sheikh Jamal 22 +22 473 Ctg Abahani 22 +14 444 Saif Sporting 22 +14 415 Mohammedan 22 +5 326 Sheikh Russel 22 +0 277 Brothers 22 -10 228 Arambagh 22 -10 219 Team BJMC 22 -12 2010 Rahmatganj 22 -11 1811 Muktijoddha 22 -15 1812 Farashganj 22 -19 17
Top Brokers


Popular Links