Thursday, June 13, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

Bangladesh sets 248 target for Kiwis

Update : 31 Oct 2013, 07:53 AM

Bangladesh were all out for 247 in 49 overs in the second One Day International against New Zealand on Thursday.

Bangladesh captain Mushfiqur Rahim decided to bat first after winning the toss against New Zealand in the second ODI in Mirpur. It was an interesting decision given the amount of dew that appears in the evening session, but it is likely that their comfort of defending a score tilted them to that direction.

Opener Shamsur Rahman returns to the pavilion scoring 25. At a delivery of Nathan McCullum, he comes down the track in an attempt to get his third six but Latham collects the ball and has enough time to whip the bails off.

Tamim Iqbal with 58 runs and Mominul with 31 runs return to the pavilion by Corey Anderson.

Both Mushfiq and Mominul score each 31 for the host team.

Mahmudullah was playing a mature innings after Bangladesh team fall in disaster loosing quick three wickets of Mushfiq, Naeem and Nasir. But Corey Anderson sent him back with 21 runs.

Nasir adds only 3 runs in the scoreboard.

Both Naeem and Mushfiq return  by the delivery being cought out by Tom Latham.

Bangladesh made one change, bringing in Shamsur Rahman in place of Anamul Haque. It's his ODI debut, having played three Twenty20s, and he became the 108th player for Bangladesh in this format.

New Zealand made two changes: Tom Latham and Kyle Mills have replaced the injured Kane Williamson and left-arm pace bowler Mitchell McClenaghan.

New Zealand: Hamish Rutherford, Anton Devcich, Tom Latham, Ross Taylor, Grant Elliott, Brendan McCullum (capt), Corey Anderson, Nathan McCullum, Tim Southee, Kyle Mills, Jimmy Neesham.

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Shamsur Rahman, Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim (capt & wk), Naeem Islam, Nasir Hossain, Mahmudullah, Sohag Gazi, Abdur Razzak, Mashrafe Mortaza, Rubel Hossain.

Top Brokers


Popular Links