Tuesday, May 28, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

No Shakib, Mustafizur in preparation camp ahead of Zimbabwe T20 series

The 3-day camp will begin this Friday in Chittagong

Update : 23 Apr 2024, 08:36 PM

All-rounder Shakib al Hasan and left-arm pacer Mustafizur Rahman were left out as Bangladesh Cricket Board Tuesday announced a 17-member squad for the preparation camp ahead of the five-match Twenty20 International series against Zimbabwe.

The three-day camp will begin this Friday in Chittagong.

Mustafizur is set to miss the camp because of his participation in the ongoing Indian Premier League for Chennai Super Kings.

He will return home for the series against Zimbabwe on May 1.

Shakib on the other hand is understood to be on leave and out of the country.

The former Bangladesh captain is likely to join midway through the series.

“We will speak to him [Shakib] once he returns. He might not be available for the start of the series. There is no concern of injury or anything. Shakib has not been made part of the camp because he can join anytime,” informed member of the national selection panel Hannan Sarkar to the media Tuesday.

“The selection panel had a meeting with the head coach [Chandika Hathurusingha]. We discussed on the squad we can have for the Zimbabwe series, the series against USA and the T20 World Cup,” said former national batter Hannan.

“Coach wanted to see the condition of the cricketers for which a few players have been recalled. We will declare the squad [for the Zimbabwe series] after the preparation camp,” he added.

All-rounders Afif Hossain and Saifuddin, left-arm spinner Tanvir Islam and top-order batter Parvez Hossain Emon have been called up.

Saifuddin last played for Bangladesh in October 2022.

Openers Mohammad Naim and Anamul Haque and left-arm spinner Taijul Islam, who were part of the T20I squad for the Sri Lanka series, have been left out.

Zimbabwe will tour Bangladesh for a five-match T20I series scheduled to begin on May 3.

The first three games will be played in Chittagong’s Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium and the last two at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka.


Nazmul Hossain Shanto (capt), Liton Das, Tanzid Hasan, Towhid Hridoy, Mahmudullah, Jaker Ali, Mahedi Hasan, Rishad Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Parvez Hossain Emon, Tanvir Islam, Afif Hossain, Hasan Mahmud, Soumya Sarkar, Saifuddin

Top Brokers


Popular Links