Sunday, June 23, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

46-game BPL 9 to begin on Jan 6, Chattogram face Sylhet in opener

42-day, 7-team, 5-phase tournament will have its grand finale in Mirpur on Feb 16

Update : 25 Dec 2022, 08:42 AM

Bangladesh cricket will begin the New Year with the country's marquee Twenty20 competition, Bangladesh Premier League, starting in Mirpur on January 6 with the match between Chattogram Challengers and Sylhet Strikers.

Holders Comilla Victorians will begin their title defence taking on Rangpur Riders in the evening game at the same venue.

Bangladesh Cricket Board announced the fixtures of the seven-team, 46-game tournament Saturday evening, with the ninth edition taking place across three venues – others being Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong and Sylhet International Cricket Stadium – in five phases.  

The first leg will conclude at the home of cricket on January 10, following which the second leg will begin in the port city on January 13.

After a total of 12 matches in Chittagong, the tournament will move back to Dhaka for the third phase on January 23 and 24 before the penultimate instalment in Sylhet from January 27-31.

The fifth and business stage of the competition will return to the capital city on February 3, with the first playoff date slated for February 12, featuring the Eliminator and first Qualifier. 

Following the second qualifier on February 14, the grand finale will be held on February 16.

With the exception of Fridays, all the afternoon games will start at 2pm and the evening matches at 7pm.

On Fridays, the first game will begin at 2:30pm and the second at 7:15pm.

Top Brokers


Popular Links