Wednesday, June 19, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

Nazmul bags highest votes in BCB election, Mashud and Fahim suffer big defeats

In his previous two terms, Nazmul Hasan had come uncontested and went on to serve as the BCB president

Update : 06 Oct 2021, 09:03 PM

Nazmul Hasan, Enayet Husain Siraj and Golam Mortuja secured the most votes in Club Category in the Bangladesh Cricket Board election held Wednesday.

The occasion is the first for Nazmul to become part of the board following a contest.

In his previous two terms, Nazmul had come uncontested and went on to serve as the BCB president.

The results will be published officially by the BCB election commission Thursday afternoon.

A total of 16 concillors got elected through contest this year.

In category one, three directors got elected from and by the district sports associations.

In category two, 12 directors got elected from and by the Dhaka clubs.

In category three, one director got elected with votes of the councilors from former cricketers, university, education board and government agencies.

The National Sports Council had nominated Ahmed Sajjadul Alam and Jalal Younus as directors while seven more directors in category one got elected uncontested to form a 25-member BCB board of directors.

AJM Nasir Uddin and Akram Khan [Chittagong Division], Kazi Inam Ahmed and Sheikh Sohel [Khulna Division], Shafiul Islam Chowdhury Nadel [Sylhet], Advocate Anwarul Islam [Rangpur] and Alamgir Khan Alo [Barisal Division] were uncontested in category one.

In Dhaka Division, former Bangladesh captain Naimur Rahman Durjoy and Tanvir Ahmed Tito emerged as winners while in Rajshahi Saiful Alam Chowdhury Swapan defeated former Bangladesh captain Khaled Mashud by 7-2 votes.

The contest was intense in the club category with 15 councilors competing for 12 directors’ posts with 57 voters.

In the category, two-time BCB president Nazmul, veteran sports organizer Enayet and member of the board of directors of the last two terms Mortuza bagged the most votes.

IH Mallick [52], Najib Ahmed [51], Obaid Nizam [51], Fahim Sinha 51, Iftekhar Rahman Mithu [50], Mahbub Anam [47], Monjur Kader [49], Salauddin Chowdhury [49], Manzur Alam Manzu [46] are the other winners in the club category.

Masuduzzaman [Mohammedan Sporting Club], Saiful Islam Bhuiyan [Old DOHS Sports Club], Mohammad Abdur Rahman [Mirpur Boys Club] and Rafiqul Islam [Gazi Tires Cricket Academy] could not pass in the club category.

In category three, former Bangladesh captain Khaled Mahmud defeated Nazmul Abeedin Fahim by 37-3 votes.

Top Brokers


Popular Links