Wednesday, June 19, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

Doleshwar set up Jamal final in DPL T20

The final will be held Monday at the same venue

Update : 02 Mar 2019, 12:03 AM

Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club and Lt. Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club Limited set up a final clash with each other in the Dhaka Premier League T20 after beating Prime Bank Cricket Club and Shinepukur CC respectively at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka Friday.

The final will be held Monday at the same venue.

In the second semi-final, Doleshwar defeated Prime Bank by six wickets, riding on captain Farhad Reza’s all-round heroics.

Asked to bat first, Prime Bank posted 170 runs losing nine wickets in their stipulated 20 overs, Alok Kapali and Zakir Hasan scoring 55 and 52 respectively.

Farhad bagged five wickets conceding 32 runs in his quota of four overs.

In reply, Doleshwar reached their destination with two balls to spare, Saif Hasan top-scoring with 61.

Marshall Ayub chipped in with 46. 

Meanwhile in the first semi-final, Sheikh Jamal clinched a brilliant five-wicket win against Shinepukur.

Shinepukur decided to take first guard and Sheikh Jamal made the perfect start as Salauddin Shakil took a maiden wicket by dismissing Mohammad Rakib in the last ball of the first over.

But Sabbir Hossain and captain Afif Hossain formed a brilliant 113-run partnership for the second wicket as Shinepukur recovered from the early loss. 

Sabbir scored 47 off 32 balls with two fours and three sixes while Afif made 65 off 41 deliveries with seven boundaries and three sixers.

Shuvagata Hom played a quickfire 31-run innings from just 17 balls with two fours and two over boundaries to help Shinepukur register a challenging 181 in their allotted 20 overs.

Shakil was the most successful bowler for Sheikh Jamal as he took four wickets giving away 28 runs in his four overs, including one maiden.

Chasing 182, Sheikh Jamal lost regular wickets in the first nine overs and at one stage, the score was 65 for the loss of five wickets in nine overs. 

But after that, captain Nurul Hasan Sohan and Ziaur Rahman added a stunning 117-run partnership in just 52 balls to ensure a thrilling victory for Sheikh Jamal.

The target appeared tough after the loss of the fifth wicket, but the Nurul-Ziaur pair sealed the win with 14 balls in hand. 

Ziaur particularly was in destructive mood as the right-hander scored 72 off just 29 balls with four fours and seven sixes. 

Nurul was unbeaten at the other end with 43 off 31 balls.

Ziaur was adjudged man-of-the-match for his match-winning innings.


Sk Jamal 182/5 in 17.4 overs (Ziaur 72*, Nurul 43*) beat Shinepukur 181/7 (Afif 65*, Shakil 4/28) by five wickets

Doleshwar 171/4 in 19.4 overs (Saif 61, Marshall 46) beat Prime Bank 170/9 (Kapali 55, Farhad 5/32) by six wickets

Top Brokers


Popular Links