Saturday, June 22, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

Nazmul, Sadman and Mahedi receive maiden national call-ups

Update : 23 Dec 2017, 09:33 PM
The BCB Saturday announced a 32-member preliminary squad for the upcoming tri-nation series, comprising Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe, which will be followed by the Test and T20I home series against the Lankans. Spinner Nazmul Islam, left-arm spinner Sadman Islam and all-rounder Mahedi Hasan received their maiden national camp call. Nazmul, known for his snake celebration, was on song in the recently concluded fifth edition of the BPL T20, picking up 12 wickets in 10 matches for Rangpur Riders. Off-spinner Mahedi registered notable performances for Comilla Victorians, picking up 10 wickets in as many games. The right-handed batsman also caught the attention in the sixth and final round of the Walton 19th National Cricket League, which ended yesterday, scoring 177. Mahedi finished as the second highest run-scorer in the first-class tournament, scoring 501 with two centuries and a half-century.

Also read: No decision yet on Bangladesh hosting Asia Cup, says BCB boss Nazmul

On the other hand, pacers Abu Haider Rony and Aby Jayed Rahi and middle-order batsman Ariful Haque returned to the national fold after a long time. Haider (for Dhaka Dynamites) and Rahi (for Khulna Titans) finished in the top five of the highest wicket-taker’s list while Ariful was pivotal in the Titans’ batting line-up. The right-handed batsman stood out as a match-winner for the BPL franchise, scoring 237 in 11 games at an average of 29.62. The BCB is set to name the 14-member squad for the tri-series a week before the tournament starts. Bangladesh will host a tri-series for the first time since 2010. All the matches of the series will be played at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka from January 15-27. The tri-series will be followed by the two-match Test series between Sri Lanka and host Bangladesh. The series begin in Chittagong’s Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Cricket Stadium on January 21 while the second and final Test will be played at MSBNCS from February 8-12. The first T20I will be held at MSBNCS on February 15 while the second and final game of the series will be held at Sylhet International Cricket Stadium on February 18.

Also read: BCB not in hurry to appoint new coach, says Jalal

SquadTamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Liton Das, Anamul Haque, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mominul Haque, Sadman Islam, Shakib al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Nasir Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Mohammad Mithun, Soumya Sarkar, Mashrafe bin Mortaza, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Shafiul Islam, Abu Haider, Abu Jayed Rahi, Subashish Roy, Rubel Hossain, Abul Hasan, Kamrul Islam, Taijul Islam, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Nazmul Islam Apu, Sanjamul Islam, Ariful Haque, Mehedi Hasan and Saifuddin
Top Brokers


Popular Links