Tuesday, June 25, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

Afzal Hossain sworn in as Patuakhali-1 MP

  • Afzal Hossain won unopposed
  • Constituency became vacant after death of Shahjahan Mia
Update : 13 Nov 2023, 04:42 PM

Md Afzal Hossain, the newly elected member of parliament (MP) for the Patuakhali-1 constituency, has taken his oath of office.

Parliament Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administered the oath at the Jatiyo Sangshad complex on Monday.

The oath-taking ceremony was conducted by Parliament Secretariat Senior Secretary KM Abdus Salam.

Senior officials of the Parliament Secretariat were also present.

Upon completion of the swearing-in, Md Afzal Hossain signed the oath book as per tradition

The ruling Awami League's candidate Advocate Afzal Hossain was elected unopposed in the by-election to Patuakhali-1.

Voting was supposed to be held on November 26.

The seat fell vacant after the death of lawmaker Shahjahan Mia on October 21.

Top Brokers


Popular Links