Friday, June 14, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

How was the last day of 11th Parliament?

  • Record 31 MPs died in 5 years
  • MPs confused about BNP’s election plans
Update : 03 Nov 2023, 09:30 AM

Most of the sessions of the 11th Parliament started with a condolence motion, and there were very few sessions in which the first meeting did not have to be adjourned for the death of a Member of Parliament.

During the five-year tenure till Thursday, the last day of the last session, a record total of 31 MPs passed away, mostly due to old age complications.

The first session was held on January 30, 2019, with the death of the Awami League’s former general secretary Syed Ashraful Islam. Son of the Mujibnagar Government’s acting president, Syed Nazrul Islam, Syed Ashraf died while undergoing treatment in Thailand on January 3, 2019, three days after being elected an MP for the fifth time.

“We don’t know how many of us will remain alive when the next parliament sits,” one of the lawmakers said during a chitchat in the room of a whip last evening. They expressed condolences while talking with each other inside the House and the Parliament lobby.

One MP of Khulna division was telling other colleagues that he did not know whether he would be able to return to parliament again as an MP or not.

Earlier, 15 MPs died in the five years of the tenth parliament.

On the last day on Thursday, most conversations between the lawmakers were about the next election, amid the ongoing movement by the opposition.

In the informal discussions, some of them expressed their confusion about the next 12th parliamentary election, while others seemed confused about whether the BNP would take part. Seven BNP MPs in the current parliament resigned last year.

Most lawmakers from the ruling party said they want the BNP to participate in the election so that they can join the sessions as public representatives with full confidence. If the BNP decides not to take part in the next election, they may try to foil it and continue agitations after the election, which may jeopardize their five-year tenure.

During the session on Thursday, several MPs delivered farewell speeches with Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury in the chair.

Remembering the deceased MPs

The list of deceased lawmakers in the 11th parliament includes veteran Awami League leaders Syeda Sajeda Chowdhury, Mohammad Nasim, and Advocate Sahara Khatun.

Jatiya Party founder General Hussain Muhammad Ershad died on July 14, 2019, JaSoD Executive President Mayen Khan Badol on November 7, 2019, and Yunus Ali Sarker on December 27, 2019.

In 2020, Mojammel Hossain died on January 10, former State Minister Ismat Ara Sadique on January 21, Abdul Mannan on January 12, former minister and Language Movement hero Shamsur Rahman Sharif died on April 2, former minister Abdul Matin Khasru on April 14, Habibur Rahman Molla on May 6, former minister and coordinator of the Awami League-led 14-Party Alliance Mohammad Nasim on June 13, former minister Advocate Sahara Khatun died on July 9, and Israfil Alam died on July 27 of the same year.

In 2021, Mahmud us Damad Chowdhury Koyesh died on March 11, former deputy speaker of parliament Ali Ashraf died on July 30, Hasibur Rahman Sopon on September 2, Sheikh Any Rahman on October 11, and Ekabbor Hossain died on November 16.

Deputy Speaker of the 11th Parliament Fazle Rabbi Mia died on July 23, 2022, and Deputy Leader of Parliament Sajeda Chowdhury died on September 11 of the same year.

This year, Moslemuddin Ahmed, a lawmaker from Chittagong, died on February 6. Prominent actor and Dhaka-17 lawmaker Akbar Ali Khan Pathan alias Hero Faroque, died on May 15, former state minister Dr Afsarul Amin on June 2, Rebecca Momin on August 30, and Abdul Kuddus on August 30 of this year.

On September 30, two lawmakers—Abdus Sattar Bhuiyan and AKM Shahjahan Kamal—died within just 17 minutes of each other. Awami League leader Shahjahan Mia, lawmaker from Patuakhali-1 constituency, died on October 21.

Top Brokers


Popular Links