Sunday, June 16, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

BCC polls: BNP permanently expels 19 leaders for running as candidates

The Barisal City Corporation elections is going to take place on June 12

Update : 04 Jun 2023, 04:45 PM

The Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) has permanently expelled its 19 leaders, including Kamrul Ahsan Rupon, a former member of the central Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal who is running as an independent mayoral candidate, in the Barisal City Corporation (BCC) elections, three joint conveners and four members of Metropolitan BNP running as councillor candidates.

Barisal Metropolitan BNP Office Secretary Jahidul Islam Ripon confirmed the news during a press meet on Sunday morning. 

Expelled leaders are - Metropolitan BNP's joint conveners Habibur Rahman Tipu, Shah Aminul Islam and Harun-or-Rashid, Metropolitan BNP convener committee member Selim Hawlader, Metropolitan Jubo Dal Vice President Humayun Kabir, all of whom are participating in the general councillor posts in the election. 

Metropolitan Mohila Dal Joint General Secretary Jasmine Samad Shilpi, convener committee members Selina Begum, Rashida Parvin and Jahanara Begum were competing in reserved councillor posts. 

Others are Syed Humayun Kabir Linku, Siddikur Rahman, Ziaul Haque Masum, Jaber Abdullah Sadi, Kazi Mohammad Shahin, Monirul Islam, Fariduddin Howladar and Humayun Kabir. 

A letter, signed by the party's Senior Joint Secretary General Ruhul Kabir Rizvi, stated: “In the history of the struggle to save democracy, your name will be pronounced untrustworthy and considered treacherous like Mir Jafar.”

The letter further stated that the response of the leaders to the show-cause notice for ignoring the party decision was unsatisfactory, and thus their decision to run in the Barisal City Corporation election, slated for June 12, was a betrayal of the aspirations of the democratic population, including the families who were victims of disappearances, murder and torture in the democratic movement over the past 15 years. 

“According to the provisions of the party constitution, you have been expelled from all levels of membership, including primary membership, for life,” it added. 

On Saturday, the BNP issued show-cause notices against 41 leaders and activists, including the district unit Chhatra Dal president and general secretary, for participating in the upcoming Sylhet City Corporation (CCC) elections, disobeying the party decision. 

The recipients have been asked to explain why organizational action will not be taken against them within the next 24 hours.

BNP Joint Secretary General Ruhul Kabir Rizvi issued the notices separately.

On Thursday, the BNP issued show-cause notices to 19 candidates of the Barisal City Corporation election for the same reason in separate letters.

Those facing the notice include former central Chhatra Dal leader Kamrul Hasan, who is vying for the mayoral post as an independent candidate, and three Barisal city unit joint conveners and members of the BNP contesting for general councilor posts.

On the other hand, in the upcoming Rajshahi City Corporation (RCC) election, slated for June 21, there are 12 BNP leaders for general councillor positions and three for reserved women councillor positions. Five of them are general councillors and two are reserved women councillors.

Earlier, in defiance of the party decision, 29 BNP leaders contested the Gazipur City Corporation (GCC) election, with a dozen of them emerging victorious in the voting that saw a 48.75% turnout. All of them were expelled for life before the election, which took place on May 25.

Top Brokers


Popular Links