Monday, June 17, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

JS hails India for approving LBA

Update : 02 Jun 2015, 04:13 PM

The Jatiya Sangsad has unanimously adopted a thanks giving motion over the ratification of the long-standing Land Boundary Agreement (LBA) in Indian Loksabha and Rajyasabha.

Hailing the Indian people and Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi and also Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina for the diplomatic success, the Members of Parliament (MPs) form both treasury and opposition benches unanimously expressed their heartiest gratitude.

The lawmakers took part in a discussion as Chief Whip ASM Feroz placed a thanks giving motion in the House as per a notice under the Rules of Procedure 147 (1) with Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury in the chair.

The MPs described the LBA as a milestone in the history as it is not a mere agreement between the two neighbouring countries but also an evidence bearing the age-old friendship between Bangladesh and India that was rooted by two leaders - Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman and the then India Prime Minister Indira Gandhi.

Deputy Speaker Advocate Fazley Rabbi Miah gratefully recalled the contribution of Indian people in the 1971 War of Liberation and also in the recent time in ratifying the LBA through amending their (Indian) Constitution.

He said the LBA issue pending for 41 years between the two territories would now be resolved as a result of the frantic efforts of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina and her Indian counterpart Narendra Modi.

"Mr Modi earned the unanimous support of the chief ministers of four Indian provinces -West Bengal, Meghalaya, Assam and Tripura in this regard . . . We thank all of them and the people of India for playing a very positive role on this important issue," he mentioned.

He categorically said that this treaty got ratification in the Indian Loksabha and Rajyasabha due to the frantic efforts of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasinato materialize the dream of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, who signed it with his Indian counterpart Indira Gandhi in 1974.

Treasury bench member and Industries Minister Amir Hossain Amu, Commerce Minister Tofail Ahmed, Civil Aviation and Tourism Minister Rashed Khan Menon, Agriculture Minister Matia Chowdhury, Foreign Minister Abul Hasan Mahmud Ali, Health and Family Welfare Minister Mohammad Nasim and Treasury bench lawmaker Suranjit Sengupta lauded the role of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina in getting the LBA approved.

Former President and Jatiya Party Chairman HM Ershad said the much-talked LBA would help ensure a better and secured life of the hitherto underprivileged people inside the enclaves both in Bangladesh and India.

"This land boundary agreement added a new chapter in the history of Bangladesh and India that has earlier initiated by Bangabandhu and Indira Gandhi," he said.

He also thanked the Indian government and its people saying "they [Indians] have further proved their sincerity and support for the people of Bangladesh as true friends and well-wishers.”

Ershad hoped that the Teesta water-sharing issue would also be resolved under her (Hasina) leadership.

Lawmakers Mainuddin Khan Badol, Dr Hasan Mahmud, Khaled Mahmud Chowdhury, Tahjib Alam Siddiqu, Nurul Islam Sujon and Mothar Hossain also attended the discussion.

Top Brokers


Popular Links