Tuesday, June 25, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

Election stats: Voter turnout over 60% in 21 constituencies, below 30% in 52

  • Election held in 299 constituencies out of 300
  • Highest percentage of voter turnout in PM Hasina’s constituency 
  • Lowest turnout in Dhaka-15
Update : 09 Jan 2024, 12:59 PM

Though the overall voter turnout was 41.99% in the 12th national parliamentary election on Sunday, more than 60% of registered voters cast their ballots in 21 constituencies and less than 30% voted in at least 52 constituencies, according to Election Commission data.

The highest 87.24% of votes were cast in Gopalganj-3 and Awami League President and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina was elected from the constituency, according to the data.

The lowest turnout was 13.04% in Dhaka-15. State Minister for Industries Kamal Ahmed Majumdar won the election from the constituency as an Awami League party candidate.

In the election boycotted by the major opposition BNP, the ruling Awami League secured 222 seats, while the Jatiya Party obtained only 11 seats. Independent candidates clinched victory in 61 seats.

Besides, Bangladesh Workers’ Party, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal and Bangladesh Kalyan Party each won a seat. The election results of Mymensingh-3 were postponed.

Out of the country’s 300 seats, Sunday’s balloting was held in 299 as the commission postponed the election to Naogaon-2 after the death of a valid candidate there.

The five constituencies with more than 70% voter turnout are Gopalganj-3 (87.24% turnout; Awami League candidate Sheikh Hasina won), Gopalganj-2 (83.20%; Awami League candidate Sheikh Fazlul Karim Selim won), Brahmanbaria-6 (76%, Awami League’s AB Tajul Islam won), Chittagong-6 (73.24%; Awami League’s ABM Fazle Karim Chowdhury won) and Sirajganj-1 (72.32%; Awami League candidate Tanvir Shakil Joy won).

The constituencies with over 60% voter turnout include Naogaon-1, Bagerhat-1, Bagerhat-2, Bagerhat-4, Barisal-1, Jamalpur-1, Mymensingh-10, Faridpur-4, Gopalganj-1, Madaripur-1, Comilla-7, Comilla-8, Feni-2, Noakhali-6, Chittagong-7 and Bandarban.

Sheikh Fazlul Karim Selim secured the highest 295,291 votes for the Boat symbol in Gopalganj-2.

Tanvir Shakil Joy got the second highest, 278,971 votes, in Sirajganj-1.

Mirza Azam received 276,453 votes in Jamalpur-3 and Dipankar Talukdar got 271,373 votes in Rangamati.

Among the elected candidates, independent candidate Awlad Hossain secured victory obtaining the lowest number of 24,775 votes in Dhaka-4.

Candidates who won even after getting fewer than 40,000 votes are Awami League nominated Muhammad Shafikur Rahman (36,458 votes) in Chandpur-4, independent contestant Saddam Hossain Pavel (39,321 votes) in Nilphamari-3 and Awami League’s Kamal Ahmed Majumdar (39,632 votes) in Dhaka-15.

Less than 20% of votes were cast in five constituencies, which are Dhaka-15 (13.04%), Dhaka-17 (16.66%), Dhaka-8 (18.70%), Sylhet-1 (19.30%) and Dhaka-16 (19.88%). In Sylhet-1, Foreign Minister AK Abdul Momen was elected.

Jatiya Party Chairman GM Quader and Secretary General Mujibul Haque won amid low turnout of voters in their constituencies.

GM Quader contested the election from Rangpur-3 where the voter turnout was only 22.36%. Mujibul Haque who contested the polls from Kishoreganj-3 witnessed a voter turnout of 29.33%.

The constituencies that witnessed a voter turnout of 20-29% also include Rangpur-3, Kurigram-1, Kurigram-2, Kurigram-3, Gaibandha-1, Gaibandha-3, Bogra-2, Bogra-4, Bogra-6, Bogra-7, Chapainawabganj-3, Rajshahi-2, Patuakhali-1, Barisal-5, Mymensingh-5, Mymensingh-6, Mymensingh-8, Kishoreganj-3, Manikganj-1, Dhaka-4, Dhaka-5, Dhaka-6, Dhaka-7, Dhaka-9, Dhaka-10, Dhaka-11, Dhaka-13, Dhaka-14, Dhaka-18, Dhaka-19, Gazipur-2, Sylhet-5, Sylhet-6, Habiganj-1, Chandpur-3, Chandpur-4, Noakhali-3, Noakhali-4, Lakshmipur-1, Lakshmipur-3, Lakshmipur-4, Chittagong-5, Chittagong-8, Chittagong-10, Chittagong-11, Chittagong-15 and Cox’s Bazar-1.

A total of 49,965,467 votes out of 118,989,241 were cast in 298 constituencies in the election.

Top Brokers


Popular Links