Sunday, June 23, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

Cricketers, film stars, ex-bureaucrats in Awami League's nomination race

  • 3,362 nomination forms sold till Tuesday
  • Journalists on the list too


Update : 23 Nov 2023, 10:44 PM

A number of celebrities and professionals, including cricketers, actors, footballers, businessmen, doctors, teachers, lawyers, journalists, and former police officials, have sought nominations from the ruling Awami League for the January 7 parliamentary election.

The party has sold 3,362 nomination forms until Tuesday, which was the last day for both collecting and submitting the forms.

Sports personalities

National cricket team captain Shakib Al Hasan has submitted the nomination forms for Magura-1 and -2 and Dhaka-10 constituencies. Besides, Bangladesh Football Federation Vice President Ataur Rahman Bhuiyan Manik has sought a ticket for Noakhali-2 and footballer Dewan Safiul Arefin Tutul for Manikganj-2.

Former national football team captain Satyajit Das Rupu has sought nomination for the Chittagong-12 constituency.


Actor Mahiya Mahi has collected a nomination form for the Chapainawabganj-2 constituency, while actor Masud Parvez Rubel is for Barisal-3. Television actors Shomi Kaiser and Rokeya Prachi have sought party nominations from Feni-3, film actor Shimla for Jhenaidah-1, actor Danny Sidak for Dhaka-10, and comedian Siddiqur Rahman for Dhaka-17 and Tangail-1.

On the other hand, actor Shakil Khan has filed his nomination paper for the Bagerhat-3 constituency.


Former secretary Prashanta Kumar Roy has sought an AL ticket for Khulna-1, while former NBR chairman and former secretary Golam Hossain has sought party candidature for Chandpur-1. Former secretary Mejbah Uddin has sought AL nomination for Bhola-4, while Sourendranath Chakraborty has sought nomination from Naogaon-3 constituency.

Another former secretary, Zillar Rahman, has submitted a nomination paper for the Chapainawabganj-1 constituency, while former chairman of the University Grants Commission (UGC) Mohammad Sadiq has filed his nomination paper for Sunamganj-4.
Besides, the former vice chancellor of Jahangirnagar University, Professor Anwar Hossain, has also sought the party's nomination.

Former police officials

A number of former police officials have sought AL nominations for the upcoming national polls. Among them are Mahbub Uddin Ahmad Bir Bikram, who sought a party ticket for Barisal-5 constituency; former Inspector General of Police (IGP) AKM Shahidul Haque for Shariatpur-1; and former Deputy Inspector General (DIG) Abdul Kahar Akand for Kishoreganj-2 constituency. Former additional IGPs Mokhlesur Rahman for Jamalpur-1 and Abdur Rahim from Mymensingh-8 have also sought party nominations. Former assistant superintendent of police (ASP) Sheikh Ataur Rahman has sought nomination for the Satkhira-4 constituency.

Besides, Chowdhury Abdullah Al Mahmud, brother of IGP Chowdhury Abdullah Al Mamun, has submitted a nomination form for the Sunamganj-2 constituency.


Ha-Meem Group Managing Director and former president of the Federation of Bangladesh Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FBCCI) AK Azad has sought AL nomination for Faridpur-3. Former FBCCI presidents Yusuf Abdullah Haroon and Jasim Uddin have sought party tickets for Comilla-3 and Dhaka-17, respectively.

Another businessman Dilip Kumar Agarwala has sought AL nomination from Chuadanga-1, while former chairman of Prime Bank Kazi Sirajul Islam is from Faridpur-1 constituency.


Several medical professionals and leaders of doctors’ associations have sought AL nominations for the upcoming polls.
Former vice chancellor of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Medical University (BSMMU) Dr Kamrul Hasan Khan has sought nomination from Tangail-3, while President of the Swadhinata Chikitsak Parishad (Swachip), Jamal Uddin, is for Chittagong-3. The former president of the organization, Dr M Iqbal Arslan, has sought party nomination for Rajbari-2, while its former secretary general Dr MA Aziz for Mymensingh-4.

Secretary General of the Bangladesh Medical Association (BMA), Dr Ehteshamul Haque Chowdhury, has filed his nomination paper for Sylhet-3, while former health affairs secretary of Swachip Dr Badiuzzaman Bhuiyan for Munshiganj-1, and former vice president of Swachip Dr Rauf Sardar for Narsingdi-4,

Apart from this, the health affairs secretary of Khulna district, AL Dr Shahid Ullah, has sought nomination.
Among prominent journalists, former adviser to the prime minister and Editor of The Daily Observer Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury has sought nomination for Feni-2, The Daily Bangladesh Pratidin Editor Naem Nizam for Comilla-10 and Dhaka Times Editor Arifur Rahman Dolon for Faridpur-1.

Top Brokers


Popular Links