Sunday, June 16, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

Awami League forms election management committee for 12th national polls

  • 14 election sub-committees formed
  • Co-chairman position remains vacant
  • Nomination form's price raised from Tk30,000 to Tk50,000
Update : 10 Nov 2023, 12:00 AM

The election management committee of the Awami League has been established in preparation for the upcoming 12th national parliamentary election. 

Obaidul Quader announced the formation of the committee and subcommittees to journalists outside Ganabhaban after the party's executive parliament meeting around 9:30pm on Thursday. 

Awami League President Sheikh Hasina will serve as the committee's chairperson while its General Secretary Obaidul Quader has been appointed as the member secretary.

Additionally, 14 election sub-committees, similar to those during the 11th national parliamentary election, have been formed.

Quader clarified that while Sheikh Hasina is the committee's president, the co-chairman position remains vacant, and he will assume the responsibilities of member secretary. The number of subcommittees, which stood at 14 last time, might see changes this time.

He also informed the press that the nomination form's price has been raised from Tk30,000 to Tk50,000 this year. Awami League members aspiring for nominations can also obtain the forms online.

Top Brokers


Popular Links