Monday, June 17, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

Vote counting starts after RCC, SCC polls wrap up

Sylhet has seven mayoral candidates while Rajshahi has three

Update : 21 Jun 2023, 04:57 PM

Authorities started tallying ballots after voting ended without any major incidents in Wednesday's Rajshahi and Sylhet city corporation elections. 

Voting started at 8am and continued till 4pm without break, with the Election Commission monitoring all polling centres from Dhaka through CCTV cameras.

The mayoral candidates in Sylhet are the Awami League's Anwaruzzaman Chowdhury, Jatiya Party's Nazrul Islam Babul, Zaker Party's Zahirul Alam, and independent candidates Abdul Hanif Kutu, Salah Uddin Rimon, Shah Jahan Mia and Mostak Ahmed Rouf Mostafa.

The number of eligible voters was 487,753 – 254,360 men and 233,387 women.

Meanwhile, the Awami League's candidate, former mayor AHM Khairuzzaman Liton (boat), Jatiya Party's Saiful Islam Swapan (plough) and Jaker Party's Latif Anwar (rose) are running for mayor in Rajshahi. 

There were 351,982 voters to exercise their right of franchise in the city.

Election Commissioner Rashida Sultana earlier in the day said the commission expected turnouts of over 40% of voters in both cities.

Expressing satisfaction with the voting atmosphere, she said no irregularities had been reported yet.

Top Brokers


Popular Links