Sunday, May 26, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

Jatiya Oikya Front to declare electoral manifesto on Dec 17

The newly formed political platform also postpones Monday’s rally

Update : 06 Dec 2018, 08:31 PM

Jatiya Oikya Front will publish its manifesto for the 11th general election on December 17.

BNP Secretary General and Oikya Front spokesperson Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir made the announcement on Thursday evening.

The coalition, led by Gono Forum President Dr Kamal Hossain and comprising BNP and several other parties, was floated in October and has now become a major opposition ahead of the polls, slated for December 30.

Fakhrul said that the platform has also decided to postpone its rally at the city’s Suhrawardy Udyan scheduled for Monday.

“We will announce a new date for the rally later. But it’s likely to be held at the fag-end of the campaign period,” he told reporters after a meeting of the Oikya Front’s election steering committee at eminent jurist Kamal’s chamber at Motijheel, Dhaka.

Shairul Kabir Khan, member of the BNP chairperson's press wing, also confirmed the Dhaka Tribune of the decisions taken at the meeting.

Oikya Front chief Dr Kamal, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JSD-Rab) President ASM Abdur Rahb, Krishak Sramik Janata League (KSJL) President Abdul Kader Siddique, Gonoshasthaya Kendra Founder Dr Zafrullah Chowdhury, Nagorik Oikya Convener Mahmudur Rahman Manna, and Gono Forum Executive President Subrata Chowdhury, among other steering committee members, were present at the meeting.

Earlier in the day, Fakhrul had told reporters that BNP later on Thursday would announce a portion of the list of its candidates for the polls, slated for December 30.

But that has yet to happen.

Meanwhile, the party has already confirmed the Election Commission that a total of 11 registered political parties would use its electoral symbol, “sheaf of paddy,” in the polls.

The parties are – BNP, Gono Forum, Liberal Democratic Party (LDP), JSD-Rab, Bangladesh Jatiya Party (BJP-Partho), KSJL, Khelafat Majlish, Jatiya Ganatantrik Party (Jagpa), Kalyan Party, Bangladesh Muslim League and Jamiat Ulema-e Islam Bangladesh.

Top Brokers


Popular Links