Wednesday, June 19, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

DU senate elects VC panel

Update : 24 Aug 2013, 04:44 PM

Dhaka University senate members Saturday formed a three-member panel for the forthcoming VC election in a special session of the senate members, held at 3pm at Nabab Nowab Ali Chowdhury Senate Building.

36 members among 50 were present in the special session. The selected members of the panel were Vice-Chancellor AAMS Arefin Siddique, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Education) Nasrin Ahmed and Pro Vice-Chancellor (Admin) Shahid Akthar Hossain. Dean of Social Science Faculty, also a senate member and Al backed Blue panel Convenor Farid Uddin Ahmed submitted the names which were supported by Dean of Earth and Environment Department ASM Maksud Kamal.

BNP backed White panel senate members boycotted the session and participated in a sit-in in front of the Senate Building during the session.

Earlier, a writ petition was submitted on Thursday by former pro vice-chancellor of the university AFM Yousuf Haidar, Prof Abdul Aziz and journalist Mahfuzullah with the High Court challenging the legitimacy of the special session. The hearing of the writ petition will be held today.  

Top Brokers


Popular Links