Tuesday, May 21, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

New alumni committee of DU journalism department formed

  • Dhaka Tribune Chief Reporter Ali Asif Shawon has been elected with the second highest vote
  • Md Abul Kalam Azad elected as president
Update : 09 Mar 2024, 04:44 PM

A new committee of the Mass Communication and Journalism Department Alumni Association of Dhaka University (DU) has been formed.

The newly elected president is Md Abul Kalam Azad, a former district and session judge, and Mir Attaki Masruruzzaman Rony, a senior news editor of Channel I, has been elected as the general secretary of the committee.

The voting took place at 5pm on the Alumni Floor of Nawab Ali Chowdhury Senate Bhaban of the university.

The Chief Election Commissioner, Golam Rahman, announced the results around 11:30pm.

Dhaka Tribune Chief Reporter Ali Asif Shawon has been elected executive member with the second highest vote in this election among all candidates.

Chief Election Commissioner Prof Golam Rahman and former secretary Abu Alam Md Jahangir Alam, Shahid Khan, former vice-president of the National Press Club Kazi Rownak Hossain, Dhaka University professor Dr Mofizur Rahman, and associate professor Shawanti Haider were present as election commissioners.

Top Brokers


Popular Links