Friday, June 21, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

Sixth phase upazila poll May 19

Update : 16 Apr 2014, 02:02 PM

The Election Commission has announced that the sixth phase upazila elections would be held in 14 upazila parishads on May 19.

The upazilas are--- Rangpur sadar, Kaunia, Gangachara, Pirgacha in Rangpur, Kamarkhand in Sirajganj, Narayanganj Bandar, Gazipur Sadar, Adarsha Sadar, Comilla sadar in Comilla and Basail in Tangail.

The newly formed upazilas are- Taltoli in Barguna, Rangabali in Patuakhali, Kalukhali in Rajbari, Bijoynagar in Brahmanbaria.


Meanwhile, the by-election for the chairman post of Tarakanda upazila parishads would be held on the same day.

Chief Election Commissioner Kazi Rakibuddin Ahmad made the announcement at a press conference at EC’s media centre in the capital on Wednesday afternoon.

According to the poll schedule, the last date of filing nomination is April 24 and the nomination would be scrutinised on April 26. The last day of withdrawing nomination is May 3.

The commission has held polls to 459 upazila parishads in five phases across the country.

The first phase polls held in 97 upazilas on February 19, second phase in 116 upazilas on February 27, third phase in 81 upazilas on March 15, fourth phase in 91 upazilas on March 23 and the fifth phase poll was held in 73 upazilas on March 31.

Top Brokers


Popular Links