Friday, June 14, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

Govt to constitute 1 new upazila, 2 municipals, 5 thanas

Update : 27 May 2013, 10:00 AM

The National Implementation Committee for Administrative Reforms (Nicar) on Monday decided to set up one new upazila, two municipals and five thanas in the country in a bid to ensure the socioeconomic development and render prompt services.

The decision was taken at Nicar’s 108th meeting held at secretariat in the capital with Nicar chairperson and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina in the chair.

Briefing reporters after the meeting, Additional Secretary to the Cabinet Division Md Nazrul Islam said Nicar decided to upgrade Naldanga thana in Natore Sadar into a upazila. Under the new upazila, there will be one municipal, and five unions with a size of 176.02 square kilometres having a population of 1,29,304.

Besides, one new municipal will be constituted at Haluaghat Upazila under Mymensingh district having a population of 51,519 under the Local Government (Pourashava) Act, 2009. Another new municipal will be formed at Bancharampur under Brahmanbaria district with a population of 50,500.

The meeting also decided to set up three new thanas in Khulna metropolis area -- Labanchara thana with a size of 17.11 square kilometres and population of 3,00000, a new thana in Khulna University area with a size of 17.19 square kilometres and population of 2,00000 and Arangghata thana with a size of 18.13 square kilometres and population of 2,50000.

A total of new 138 posts of government job will be created in these three new thanas, he added.

He said Kazirhat Police Investigation Center under Mehendiganj of Barisal district would be upgraded into a full-fledged thana to improve law and order situation in the area. The size of the new thana will be 64.84 square kilometres with a population of 69,908 having four unions.

Besides, Aminpur Investigation Center under Bera thana of Pabna district will be upgraded into a new thana with a size of 266 square kilometres, having eight unions and a population of 2,95,552.

Nazrul Islam further said the ward-7 under Jatrabari thana comprising Kazirbagh, Maniknagar, Miazan Lane and South Maniknagar would now be brought under Mugda thana of the Dhaka Metropolitan Police, reports UNB. 

Top Brokers


Popular Links