Tuesday, June 18, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

Hopeful mayoral candidates submit nomination papers in Rajshahi

Update : 13 May 2013, 05:04 AM

Hopeful mayoral candidates submitted their nomination papers on Sunday for the upcoming Rajshahi City Corporation (RCC) election, due to be held on June 15.

A total of 251 nomination papers have been submitted, among those six for the mayoral post, 176 for councillor posts and 69 for the seats reserved for women.

The hopeful mayoral candidates are former mayor AHM Khairuzzaman Liton of the 14-party alliance, Mosaddeuque Hossain Bulbul and Shafiqul Haque Milon of the 18-party alliance, Jamaat-backed Dr Muhammad Jahangir, and independent candidates Habibur Rahman and Mir Mozammel Haque.

BNP leader and former RCC Mayor M Mijanur Rahman Minu, did not submit his nomination papers and remained out of the contest for the mayoral post.

AHM Khairuzzaman Liton, accompanied by MPs Fazley Hossain Badsha, Alhaj Shariar Alam, Abdul Wadud Dara and Zinatun Nessa Talukder, and other 14-party alliance leaders, submitted his nomination papers to the returning officer Subhash Chandra Sarker.

Meanwhile, the BNP central leader Mosaddeque Hossain Bulbul and city general secretary Shafiqul Haque Milon submitted nomination papers under the banner of Sommilito Nagorik Forum, while Wazibullah, a Jamaat leader, submitted a nomination paper for the mayoral post on behalf of the city’s imprisoned Jamaat secretary-in-charge, Dr Muhammad Jahangir.

According to the election schedule, the submitted nomination papers will be scrutinised on May 15 and 16, while the last date for withdrawing a nomination paper is May 26.

Top Brokers


Popular Links