Sunday, April 21, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

Hamid to be sworn into office in evening

Update : 24 Apr 2013, 03:32 AM

Abdul Hamid is all set to be sworn into office as the 20th president of Bangladesh at 7:30pm Wednesday.

The Cabinet Division began preparations to conduct the oath-taking ceremony shortly after the Election Commission announced Hamid had been elected uncontested on Monday.

Acting speaker of parliament Shawkat Ali will administer the oath to Hamid. A few handpicked guests will be invited to attend the ceremony at Bangabhaban’s Darbar Hall.

“The ceremony is scheduled to be held at 7:30pm Wednesday. We have already started inviting the guests through cards or communicating personally,” said Md Moyeen Uddin, joint secretary (admin) of the Cabinet Division told Dhaka Tribune over telephone Tuesday.

As per the constitution, Hamid will be in office for the next five years, including the tenure of the government that will be elected in the next election.

Hamid has been the acting president since Zillur Rahman died at a hospital in Singapore on March 20.

Earlier, on Sunday Awami League’s parliamentary party unanimously nominated Hamid as its presidential candidate.

Chief election commissioner Kazi Rakib Uddin Ahmad on Monday declared the 69-year-old politician elected uncontested as the 20th president of Bangladesh following scrutiny of his nomination papers filed on Sunday.

Meanwhile, Hamid’s constituency, Kishoreganj-4 along with his post of speaker will fall vacant once he is sworn in as the new president.

The veteran politician was born in Kamalpur, Mithamoin Upazila in 1944, to parents Hazi Mohammaf Teyebuddin and Tamiza Khatun.

A seven-time member of the parliament, Hamid was serving as the speaker for the second term.

He started his political journey in 1959, when he joined Bangladesh Chhatra League. He was imprisoned by the Pakistan government for his involvement in the anti-Ayub movement in 1961.

Later, in 1970 Hamid was elected as the youngest member of the National Assembly, from Mymensingh-18 constituency. He joined Bangladesh’s War of Independence the following year.

He was awarded the Swadhinata Padak this year for his contributions during the Liberation War.

He was elected from Kishoreganj-5 constituency as a member of parliament in the national elections of 1973, 1986, 1991, 1996, 2001 and 2009.

Top Brokers


Popular Links