Sunday, April 21, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

Rajshahi and 2 districts get new DCs

Update : 09 Apr 2013, 11:35 AM


New deputy commissioners (DC) were appointed yesterday for three districts, Rajshahi, Chapainawabganj and Bogra. Khulna and Rajshahi divisions were also given new additional divisional commissioners (ADC).

The changes were made by order of the public administration ministry.

Mohammad Mejbahuddin Chowdury, deputy secretary to the executive chairman of the Board of Investment, was made the Rajshahi DC. Meanwhile, Joint Secretary Abdul Hannan, the previous Rajshahi DC, was transferred to the home ministry.

Sardar Sarafat Ali, the deputy secretary at the agriculture ministry, was made DC of Chapainawabganj.

Deputy Secretary Shafiqur Reza Biswas, who was the additional deputy commissioner of Faridpur, was made DC of Bogra.

The three northern districts have seen spates of violence since February 28, following Jamaat leader Sayedee’s death sentence for crimes during the 1971 Liberation War.

Local authorities have come under scrutiny for failing to control the unrest and the home ministry withdrew 24 police officers from their positions last week as a consequence.

Joint Secretary Mohammad Munir Hossain, who was the director of local government at the Rajshahi divisional commissioner’s office was made the ADC of the same division. He replaces Additional Secretary Swapan Kumar Roy, who has since been attached to the public administration ministry as officer on special duty (OSD).

OSD Joint Secretary Sanowar Hossain, who was with Ministry of Industries, was appointed additional divisional commissioner of Khulna.

Top Brokers


Popular Links