Friday, June 21, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

WI fight back with consecutive wickets

Update : 11 Feb 2016, 03:22 AM

Bangladesh have scored 177 runs losing five wickets in 42 overs in their semi-final against West Indies Under-19s on an overcast and foggy morning in Mirpur on Thursday.

Bangladesh captain Mehedi Hasan Miraz has opted to bat first winning the toss.

Miraz thought it was a good track to bat on and they would look to score at least 250 to put West Indies under pressure.

He made one change by bringing in offspinner Mosabbek Hossain for left-arm spinner Ariful Islam who went wicketless against Nepal in the quarter-final.

West Indies captain Shimron Hetmyer was not too bothered about bowling first and he fielded an unchanged side from their quarter-final against Pakistan.

The pitch looked hard and was expected to assist pacers early on.

Bangladesh Under-19s 1 Pinak Ghosh, 2 Saif Hassan, 3 Joyraz Sheik, 4 Nazmul Hossain Shanto, 5 Zakir Hasan (wk), 6 Mehedi Hasan Miraz (capt), 7 Mohammad Saifuddin, 8 Saeed Sarkar, 9 Mehedi Hasan Rana, 10 Mosabbek Hossain, 11 Saleh Ahmed Shawon

West Indies Under-19s 1 Gidron Pope, 2 Tevin Imlach (wk), 3 Shimron Hetmyer (capt) , 4 Keacy Carty, 5 Shamar Springer, 6 Jyd Goolie, 7 Keemo Paul, 8 Michael Frew, 9 Ryan John, 10 Alzarri Jospeh, 11 Chemar Holder

Top Brokers


Popular Links